We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique style with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Boutique style with good food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here on business last week. I was in one of the garden rooms which was large and beautifully furnished. The service and food were excellent - a huge selection of fresh home made produce for breakfast and a good selection on the evening menu. The hotel is situated in the middle of Winchester so you can walk to nearby attractions. It has free parking for guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    170
    116
    67
    24
See reviews for
87
335
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is intimate, two older houses joined together, with customer service a priority. The rooms are acceptable but the service, restaurants and client care are exemplary. The kind of staff that when checking out you want to track down and thank them.

I thought reasonably priced for the quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pushhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to Winchester to visit their famous Christmas market, rated among the top ten in Europe, and stayed at the Hotel du Vin. Like all the other H du Vs in which we've stayed, this one is in an interesting period building.
Our room, though on the small side, was beautifully furnished and had a smart bathroom. The staff were charming and the food was excellent, the breakfast exceptionally so. The hotel has its own car park also. It is centrally placed, and convenient for looking around the wonderful medieval city with so many things to see. There are lots of good pubs as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a great restaurant (and hotel) that serves a good variety of top dishes with a French theme. We ate there on a Saturday night in January and the place was fully booked. That said, the quality of both the attentive service and each course was of the highest of standards. The friendly staff know their menu and are able to answer questions in detail, whether that be on the seasonal dishes or the comprehensive wine menu. We selected a variety of different dishes and nobody was left disappointed.

The atmosphere of the various interconnected dining rooms adds to the charm, with high ceilings, wooden paneling and abundant pictures, all lit by suitable lighting and candles.

Costs vary from about £30 per head for a 2-course evening meal without alcoholic drinks to £60 per head for a 3-course meal with half a bottle of good wine per person.

My only negative comment is that a 10% service charge is added on your bill automatically at the end of your meal - I would personally prefer to decide how much I want to tip at the end of the evening.

Highly recommended - one of Winchester's best dining experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
823 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We last came here in 2006 and thought we'd try it again for old times sake. The NYE meal was amazing, the steak, OH MY GOD, best one I've had in years. fantastic staff and the band was excellent, we stayed in one of the outdoor rooms which was perfect. Well done to all the staff at HDV Winchester.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

“Hotel du vin Winchester..... We loved it and  we will return soon!”

I really cannot praise Hotel du Vin Winchester highly enough. My family (myself, Husband, son and his fiancée stayed for two nights and on boxing day our  daughter and husband stayed for one night and were made to feel so welcome, it really felt as if we were staying with friends - albeit friends who waited on us hand and foot.   Nothing was too much bother and the majority of staff were  friendly especially Rachel the receptionist who  made us feel incredibly relaxed from the moment we walked through the door.  The hotel   has such a wonderful relaxed atmosphere,  food is good although breakfast on day two was not as good (change of sausages, toast cold not so well done, not very nice).  The French resturant manager is fabulous she delivered a fantastic Hogmany party the meal was amazing she has the ability to make guests feel relaxed and delivered an  incredable service with a smile she  made us all feel very welcome Krisztina, the stand in manager again made us all feel incredibly welcome she has the ability to make all the guests feel special and welcomes them all with a wonderful smile. The rooms were very comfortable, the beds soft, the pillows luxurious and the showers huge. Most importantly the staff really seemed to enjoy their work and as a result created a very happy atmosphere , we are already planning to return when the new manager starts.  
Watch this space for our follow up review.

JC 

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrissoton35
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just like to thank all of the staff at Hotel Du Vin who ensured our stay for two nights were superb, we booked the three best suites tattinger, comtes des champagne and courvoisier and the rooms were stunning each with four poster beds and nespresso machines, roll top baths and monsoon showers.

The meal we had at New Year's Eve was extremely good and the band and champagne reception was a fabulous way to bring in the new year.

Being a fan of hotel du vin Poole and Brighton I can say that standards have remained top quality and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissoton35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,712 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 14 Southgate Street, Winchester SO23 9EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing