We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Day Out!”
Review of Marwell Zoo

Marwell Zoo
Ranked #3 of 71 things to do in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our 140-acre park is home to an incredible range of exotic and endangered species, in beautiful, landscaped surroundings. Just by visiting Marwell Zoo (owned and operated by conservation charity, Marwell Wildlife) you'll be making a big contribution to our projects to conserve species and habitats, both here in Hampshire and around the world. Look out for Lemur Loop, a new walkthrough exhibit opening summer 2017, plus, The Great Brick Safari: An Interactive Experience with LEGO® Bricks EXCLUSIVE to Marwell Zoo 1 Aug - 1 Oct. Our £15-£19 adult entry fee varies across the year and includes a voluntary donation of around 10%. Please check our website for full ticket prices.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Theres a great range of different animals and the park is easy to navigate around being quite compact, theres definitely enough to see for a full day out! The timetabled animal talk we listened to was very engaging and informative and the park staff were happy to answer questions. If you want to see the Snow Leopards then I recommend finding a good spot facing the den and holding your position!

1  Thank AlecCanwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear you had a great day with us, and that you particularly enjoyed the animal talk you listened to. When you come again, be sure to check with with the Information Kiosk on arrival about all the talks that are happening that day, as normally there are at least two or three. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,776 - 1,780 of 2,223 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited with our two and a half year old daughter on a Friday in October. The park has changed (not for the better) since our last visit as a couple in 2006. The highlights were the giraffes, lemurs and the wallabies. The tractor and train ride was fun and the staff were helpful. Take a picnic lunch as the cafe amenities are over priced.

My criticisms would be many enclosures looked empty and run down, with some animals looking sad. There were no petting areas for youngsters or toddlers as I remember from many years ago.

The distances involved are fairly long but everything is well laid out and sign posted. Would visit again, but not for a few years to see how things change.

On a positive note, we all had fun and enjoyed a family day out.

Thank djcarlos2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

We are glad to hear that your family enjoyed a fun day with us, and that you found our staff helpful.

We haven’t had petting areas for some years now, but we try to make all our new enclosures as interactive as possible i.e the Coatis, the Aviary and the Wallabies, where you can get in close proximity to the animals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was recently at Marwell Hotel for a 3 day business event. One day we went to the wildlife park and I was surprised at how big it is and the vast selection of animals they have there. There is lots to do there, places to eat and drink and lots of information given about the animals, how endangered they are etc. We only had a couple of hours but we could have spent far longer there.

Thank Kimberley_Proudlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we have only recently started offering entry to the Zoo as park of business events at Marwell Hotel, and are pleased to hear it enriched your course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A really good day out with our 8 year old daughter. We bought tickets the day before online and got a discount.Ive read on here about the issues with gift aid, if you dont want to pay extra then doing it online is really easy. Parking and getting in was simple. The animals were more active today than we have ever seen them,probably because we have always come during the summer holidays in the past. The train wasnt working but I do object to paying extra anyway so didnt affect us. We did the road train later on in the day and went around the park for a second view.

We listened to a few of the talks and also the spooky stories session which was a welcome rest.

Overall a great day out,not too far to walk around and cheaper than a theme park. Food and gift prices on a par with its peers , we took a picnic which worked for us. The animals looked well cared for and deserve the extra space Marwell has for them cokpared to zoos we have visited.

Thank 1969sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It is vitally important to us as a charity that relies on our guests to enable us to carry out our conservation work that we consistently provide the highest quality of day out to all those who come. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Was staying locally in the hotel adjacent for 1 night with specific intention of visiting
The weather was random and were prepared for rain
It seems most of the Hampshire attractions have an obsession with charging more for gift aid donators
I cannot see why the need for this unless the tax office charge an admin fee
Back to the park- the entrance fee of near 60 for 2+2 seems on par so long as you go for the day
The animals were a little elusive but that cannot be helped and would hardly choose to stay in the rain
Great layout with lots of space and compared to London zoo Marwells upkeep is fantastic
2 key points for improvement
The land train seats take on water in the rain causing us to abandon our visit and head back to the hotel
Also the cafe and foods snacks on offer need bringing into the new world
Apart from that- a great day out

Thank tj38marlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to give us your thoughts on your day with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the layout of the Zoo. Our grounds staff work extremely hard to keep the guest and animals areas maintained to high standards.

We are sorry to hear that our café and food snacks did not meet your expectations. We try to provide as much variety as possible to cater for all tastes. We use locally sourced, high quality ingredients, and we regularly review our menu options to make sure we are consistently providing enjoyable, suitably priced and varied food to our guests.

Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marwell Zoo also viewed

 
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Marwell Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing