We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok- but not overwhelming”

The Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #152 of 200 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Stylish and warming venue able to cater for all walks of customers. From general dining and drinks to Cocktail Master Classes and exclusive area hire and buffet options.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok- but not overwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

For the price you pay, The Slug and Lettuce offers a very reasonable lunch.

The food is pretty average- if not slightly below- on par with other large branded pubs, bars and bargain restaurants.

The Service is good; very attentive and incredibly warm.

The only thing I would mention is the cleanliness of the restaurant- it needs a good clean and tidy.

Would I return? Yes- certainly for a quick bite or a drink. In my opinion, not a place for business or special occasions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IlVaSansDire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    65
    64
    47
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will go again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch with the family, and had a very good main and desert. It was cooked at a good standard. The staff there were friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Rob08101988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Late Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We took our daughter on a day trip to Winchester to give her a break during her third week at Southampton Uni.

The Slug was about the first place we passed during our search for somewhere for a cheap and cheerful lunch and it was also the last place we reached after failing to find anywhere else suitable for our purpose in the City centre.

It was quite busy when we first passed it, so didn't give it a second glance. However, when we arrived on our second pass it was quiet and the menu suited us, so we popped in.

We greeted by a waiter and seated immediately. Drinks were quickly served and our food order taken as as soon we were ready.

The food was served hot and the quality was better than expected. We were left in peace to eat our meals at our leisure and we ordered two desserts, for which the two-for-one offer was a bonus.

So, in summary, we got a little more than expected but it was a quiet time. We would certainly go again as long as it was not too busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justrecently-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“OK for this type of restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Came here when my sister in law had gone to uni and we checked up on her. Is what it is im afraid cheap and cheerful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richieb123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Terriable, wish i hadn't given the place a second chance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Came back to the Slug to give it another chance after a poor visit first time round. Service was slow and the young male waiter with dark hair excelled....at being rude. We were abruptly asked "if we were expecting change" from the bill and then when we said yes (as service was so bad) he muttered under his breath "to**er". Nachos were stone cold too. Won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RC12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing