We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wykeham Arms
Nearby Hotels
$134
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$100
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Marwell Hotel(Winchester)
$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$208
$187
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (965)
Filter reviews
965 results
Traveler rating
524
248
108
50
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
248
108
50
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubold school desksnelson roompost boxwinchester collegelovely old pubsteep stairspiefresh milkcomplimentary watersingle roommain buildingscallopschristmas marketcar parkwine listlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 965 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Lovely old pub with good range of real ales and friendly staff. But ridiculously expensive. £14.50 for fish and chips is just a rip-off and a pint of bitter is a few pence off £4. They obviously target the tourists who only ever come once. Such a shame.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank davidreeves_104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We wanted a quick weekend away with good accommodation , great food and lots to explore. The Wykeham Arms is the place to go! We were delighted with the location as the hotel was at the back entrance to the Cathedral grounds. This meant lovely short walks through the grounds to the High street and the surrounding lanes and riverside. Delightful.

The building itself is extremely old with bags of character. Our twin room ( with beds joined) was large and nicely decorated with eclectic finds mixed with a modern décor. The bathroom in the 'Redman' room is very challenging for tall people as it is built in the eaves. The toiletries and bath sheets were excellent and in the room itself the sundries were very generous. Apart from the usual hot drinks and biscuits we found in the fridge 4 bottles of water and two bottles of Fullers beer. All complimentary. There was a hair dryer and ironing facilities provided.

The bar was amazing with a log fire and school desks mixed with church collection tables and a numerous mix of chairs. The beers and wines on offer were amazing and so was the food. The Restaurant was delightful and we dined on Scallops, Venison and Steak washed down with a great wine we had never heard of. The prices are quite high but if you choose well you can order Fish & Chips and still enjoy the ambience. Breakfast was served on gorgeous china and the menu included a wonderful smoked salmon prepared in Fullers beer! But the best thing about this inn was the staff! Very friendly and helpful from Reception to Restaurant! We will definitely return.
Top Tips
Arrive in between 11.30am -12.30pm to get a parking space in the limited car park.
Book your meal in the restaurant as it was very popular with the locals.

Room Tip: TOP TIPS Ask for a lower room if you have mobility problems as the stairs are ancient and very steep.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybilbee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Went in on the off chance because we were told to book,however got a table, and was not disappointed great food ,great wine candlelit tables and lovely friendly staff,had our meal and sat in the bar we had a fantastic night

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Casbat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Wykeham Arms has it all - great bar, great food and a perfect location in the centre of Winchester. The bar and restaurant are adorned with a very eclectic selection of historical pictures and artefacts with not only tankards but walking sticks on the ceiling. There are great nooks and crannies to sit in and even old classroom desks from Winchester College. If you want the 'olde world' charm of England, then look no further. The rooms are not huge and some of the building would be a struggle for the less mobile - check where your room is located if mobility is an issue. We had to climb several steep stairs to get up to our attack room but it was worth it. We had a charming room and could hear the bells from Winchester Cathedral. The bathroom was really well furnished and the best use of space I've ever seen - they even managed to fit in a corner shower and a roll top bath. A good selection of teas and coffee are available in the room and there was even some London Pride in the fridge. Despite the creaky floorboards, there was nothing old about the bed which was extremely comfortable.

The best bit, however, was the food. I was surprised by some other reviewers' comments about small portion sizes and standard. This was not our experience at all. I enjoyed one of the best meals I have had in a long time and could not have eaten another thing at the end. The menu is not hugely extensive but all the food was fresh and locally sourced. There is a lot more choice of wines ranging from the familiar to the unusual with a good selection at a reasonable price. There is clearly a talented chef - everything was delicious and nothing was included for the sake of it: all the small additions on the plate complemented the main dish perfectly. Breakfast the next morning was also excellent, including a perfectly poached egg (not as easy as it sounds).

The last ingredient of a superb stay is the staff. The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. There is a good team who clearly love working there who go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need with good humour but a professional manner.

In short, I wish the pub was my local and the restaurant was much nearer to home - I would definitely be a regular customer.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Second time staying here and even better than the first time. A light lunch with a local beer was perfect and the dinner was very enjoyable plus the ambience and service were excellent. I don't think it would be possible to find a better location and all the staff are really friendly and make you feel at home.
Look forward to the next visit.

Room Tip: Problem sleeping with a heavy duvet but maybe also due to eating too much!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VINCENT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews