We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inadequate misdescribed food, but good service, complaint well handled.”
Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wykeham Arms
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“inadequate misdescribed food, but good service, complaint well handled.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

On a long journey we stopped at Winchester having booked ahead for lunch by mobile at the Wykeham arms, based on 'highly thought of food ' review in the Good pub Guide. How wrong! We had looked forward to a traditional roast and ordered the roast beef for £15. It came with one thick slice of completely raw beef which may have been shown an oven for 5mins as there was a 1mm brown strip around the edge. The small jug of gravy when poured over it did not change the bluey red colour in the least so the gravy was clearly not hot (neither was the beef) and one taste of the beef convinced me that it was tough so asking for it to be cooked further would only toughen it more. The manager was very helpful, we were offered the choice of reheating or choose another dinner but looking at the menu we had lost confidence in any other choice (no other sliced roast meat available and anyway there were so few veg - 3 tiny cut up pieces of under roasted potato, 3 or 4 tiny baby carrots and no more than half a dozen matchstick thin beans. Only the yorkshire was a halfway decent size. Very poor value for money. I was so disappointed and embarrassed that I had had to complain that we opted to leave. To her credit the manager accepted this and didn't charge us at all, even for our red wine (which we had only lightly sipped as we were saving it for the roast beef to arrive!) We went back into the town centre to the William Walker and had a wonderful dinner of beautifully cooked roast chicken, gravy, lots of fresh carrot batons, lots of fresh green beans , a good helping of green cabbage and lots of delicious herby roasted new potatoes for just £9. Why can't the Wykeham Arms do that?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac_12152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    196
    87
    41
    28
See reviews for
123
382
47
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

First off, I can only speak to the pub/restaurant, as my husband and I stayed elsewhere in Winchester. As for the pub, the atmosphere is fantastic, and the beer delicious and refreshing. The food was fine, not exceptional, but fine, although a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California, USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Wykeham Arms was a delightful place to stay and also to eat. We had a room in the Annex, and the staff was very helpful with our bags. Room was quiet, and pub was very friendly. Breakfast very good, and dinners reasonably priced. Location was excellent, central but quiet. We traveled to Winchester from Heathrow by National Express Bus, a quick and inexpensive way to get around, then rented car for a day in Winchester.Lots to see near Winchester. Really enjoyed walk to Hospital St Cross (beautiful old buildings and garden). Romsey Abbey very good Norman Church, Abbey Mottisfort (National Trust) garden had marvelous roses in early July, and village of Nether Wallop, where Miss Marple is filmed, is charming.

Room Tip: Annex especially quiet. Top room has fine view of Winchester College.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet/George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I write this slightly disappointed and regretting not booking the hotel du vin and saved myself £30 so with this in mind maybe my review is slightly skewed by my uber high expectations and the cost for one night being £159 ! I was expecting a totally unique quirky pub but although the pub is sort of like this the rooms which are not cheap are quite ordinary . We were originally booked in the wolvesley be warned if you book a luxury double on booking. Com which says ' comes with a Victorian bath ' this is not true and what you get is a standalone shower no bath . This may suit some people but I have to have a bath also the room I felt was small and dark and all I could hear was someone coughing in the pub below ! you can hear everything !after some debate we were moved to ' street 'which was across the road in a separate building, this room is much brighter and nicer with a bath ! I said to the guy that i had emailed a few days earlier (no response whatsoever ) Asking for non allegenic bedfung he replied confidently that all of the was non allergenic unfortunately on retiring I found all the pillows had feathers in so had to fashion my own pillows out of some cushions I had found - not great ! Also the bathroom door was stuck and you needed 2 people to open it although the guy recognised this noone came to fix it . This all created quite a bad initial impression .The breakfast the next day was great , lots of choice like pancakes or a fry up and a buffet with help yourself breakfast -this was amazing . The coffee though was brought in individual cups which was strange . We ate dinner in the restaurant which was a bit hit and miss our table was next to a corridor used constantly by people heading to the garden or toilets . Every time the toilets were used a burst of lemon loo freshener would burst out literally coating your tongue between bites - not nice . My soup was nice my lamb main course consisted of a rack of lamb consisting of two tiny rabbit like chops but the cheese board was nice albeit tiny . I had a 10£ off voucher this made the price I think more suitable !i wish the dinner was as good as the breakfast ! Mixed feelings we stayed then at the old vine which I personally preferred .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wimblewombler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Wimblewombler

I was sorry to read of your experience here at The Wykeham Arms. I can tell you that the descriptor on Booking.com is being changed as we speak, the soundproofing of Wolvesey bedroom is due to be completed before the end of the month, and the door in Street has been fixed. I appreciate your feedback, I am only sorry that you had to experience such a comedy of errors. I also welcome all feedback good or bad in regards of the menu. We are constantly changing our offer in line with seasons, and guest comments. So I was pleased to read that our breakfast offer met with favour, but work to be done on our dinner menu. In any case please accept my apologies. I would grrateful, if you have the chance to return, to contact me on wykehamarms.manager@fullers.co.uk so as I may arrange an upgrade and discount to make up for your dissapointing trip.

Best regards

Jon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wykeham Arms is a cosy pub and a great place to stay in Winchester. Rooms are beautifully decorated and have a really nice atmosphere. The pub itself is equipped with an excellent restaurant which serves up great food, a nice breakfast and some good ales as well.

Overall Wykeham arms deserves the highest recommendation possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunepede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Sunnepede

This is brilliant feedback, greatfully received. Don't foret to claim your 10% off the standard room rate on your next visit, and I look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards

Jon H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary here with a meal, and were very disappointed. Service was incredibly slow (40 minutes for water and bread) and one of our meals turned up without it’s key ingredient, which was replaced after the meal was finished with a bowl of onions! We are local to the Wykeham Arms, and wrote to he landlord to note our disappointment, and he didn’t even bother to respond. If this is how they treat the locals I dread to think how tourists fare.
Overall; Very expensive, with poor service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Jon S

I am very surprised to see that you have not received my response. I can promise I had wrote and sent it shortly after your visit. I really hope you will come back and try us again. Please contact me at the hotel on wykehamarms.manager@fullers.co.uk and I will re-semd my apology and explanation.

Warm Regards

Jon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the 'Street' room at the beginning of our UK driving holiday. Free off street parking was available at the back of the pub. The people working there were lovely, helpful and chatty. The Street room was beautiful (I particularly loved the bathroom!) and looked out over the pub from the other side of the road. A brief walk takes you to Winchester Cathedral and Jane Austen's final residence is just around the corner. The Wykeham Arms serves excellent food with a good range of breakfast options for people staying in the rooms and the dinner service. The stay was a bit pricer than other inns on our trip, but I felt it was worth it for the quality of the rooms, attention to detail (complimentary beer in the fridge) and great food.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,714 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
621 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Property: The Wykeham Arms
Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Chefs know you can only make great food with the best ingredients. So they demand that seasonal, local produce is delivered fresh every day. That’s our Chef’s commitment to your food and one of the reasons they put their signature on every menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing