We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wykeham Arms
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Six of us visited last Saturday after spending the early evening at the wonderful Xmas Market. This has now become a yearly tradition but alas will be the final year. Has now become so overpriced that it is ridiculous , they need to remember that this is a pub and you do not get the service that should go with these prices! Portions are also very small. We also all froze, I guess due to location of our table. However, the final straw came when our bill was presented which included 10% service charge. We divided this three ways which resulted in the total amount being short by a few pennies. The waiter was very rude in asking for this, I did remind him that this charge was discretionary and being a few pence short not a problem ! I wish now that I had cancelled the transactions and paid no service at all !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    203
    88
    41
    28
See reviews for
126
390
47
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hi ! Wykeham is not new for me, as I've visited the restaurant for last 30 years and every time I visit Winchester I always head for this welcoming place. I found food always good and consistent. Equally I've used the pub for some of my foreign guests many a times and they have always been well impressed with the service, quality of food and polite staff. Good luck for 2013
Marthita Chippendale - Hampshire UK

Room Tip: No opinion on sleep, rooms, fitness or spa as I've not experienced these services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was my second visit to The Wykeham Arms and I wasn't disappointed on my return
The staff were just as friendly, and to walk into a very quirky bar in December to find three open fires was very welcoming! The rooms are very comfortable and the complimentary water and beer a nice touch. The bathroom was very well appointed and I must find a supplier for their soap which is the most luxurious I have ever used! It is located in the oldest part of Winchester just moments from The Cathedral and we very much enjoyed the Christmas Market. It was only a few moments on to the Main Street which was looking very festive and is very full of both high street brands and little individual shops. Breakfast was very fresh and again it felt like Christmas having smoked salmon and scrambled egg - yummy! In all we and our friends who also very much enjoyed their stay would recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying again!

Room Tip: We stayed across the street which we felt would be quieter than above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Wyekham Arms, to visit Winchester & the Christmas Fair, we used to live nearby so it was a visit back to old haunts for my daughter & I. We had a room in the main pub which suprisingly quiet, the food was very good, however I would advise that you book to eat as the place seemed to be fully booked every night & we had to be squeezed in if possible or wander off elsewhere.
Our room had the most stunning bathroom off it, unfortunately it was inadequately heated so fine once you jumped into a piping hot bath but not before!
We had some issues with the pillows only to discover that 2 tired pillows had been put into 1 pillow case to make 1 very hard pillow, that explained the 'tombstone' pillows that had marred my sleep for the first 2 nights.
The parking, given there are, I think, 14 rooms is very limited and the staff valiantly move cars around to let you out when blocked in so its pretty grim. If like me you are disabled you need to consider your arrival time & get parked up!
The staff were very friendly and helpful despite being busy.

Room Tip: No fitness centre clicked in error
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

A very busy Pub. We had booked for lunch, and were surprised how busy it was, with tables in clusters spread throughout the Pub. The food was very delicious, served by charming staff. If you're visiting Winchester, strongly recommend a visit, but do book if you plan to dine.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 20H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My friend and I travelled to the Wykeham Arms for the weekend and had a fantastic time, worth the stay. The food was out of this world and the rooms were a home from home (I even had my own cuddly bear). Upon check in Alex took our bags to our room, he was very pleasent and able to recommend local attractions, one being the christmas market. Our evening meal was to die for, I have never tasted anything like it. Hats off to Adam and Andy "irish" for our meal, you guys did a great job. The staff were friendly and welcoming and more than happy to help us in any way. All in all it was a great weekend and I would happily recommend the Wykeham Arms to all my friends.
Many thanks guys, Lora Thompson

Room Tip: The Kelsey suite, thats the place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delabole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent quite a bit of time reviewing tripadvisor before booking a overnight stay in Winchester recently. We opted for a stay here as reviews always seemed pretty consistently high and the venue ticked a lot of boxes for us in terms of apparent ambience, location, parking and food. Our timing of the visit was perfect as, unknown to us, the day of our arrival saw the start of the Christmas market at the Cathedral, which was a 3 minute walk away.

We opted for a 'superior room' and despite the corridors to the rooms being a little 'pub like', the room was amazing. Certainly on a par with a proper 'stand alone' hotel. Room facilities included very good quality bed linen, a very comfy bed, flatscreen TV, a fridge (with beers in!), and a brilliant bathroom. The hotel/pub is very old and creaky and the rooms are probably all unique therefore. Ours had a historic fireplace in the bedroom and bathroom. The rolltop bath was lovely but impractical for those wanting a shower as the curtain didn't fit the bath properly.

Other nice touches were nice toiletories in the bathroom, and even a book on a stand across the old rolltop bath. Nice. Room was also very warm, and despite being above a noisy pub...were actually really quiet to external noise apart from a drunk (and 'awfully posh') student outside at midnight. I was woken early the next morning by very noisy bin men downstairs as well (I noticed somebody else commented on a similar issue) but really, the streets outside are very thin and sound does carry. It'd probably be an annoyance if we spent more than a night there to be honest.

My only 2 x gripes...breakfast was 7.30am - 9.30am. A bit too early for some if they enjoyed the bar hospitality downstairs the night before as we did....;0) And in terms of food...very nice, if not slightly costly, BUT...when ordering a starter for £8, I expect more than half a meatball and a few leaves, despite how well made it may be!

Room Tip: It's only a tenner more for a superior room...I'd pay it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hogtronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
632 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Property: The Wykeham Arms
Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Chefs know you can only make great food with the best ingredients. So they demand that seasonal, local produce is delivered fresh every day. That’s our Chef’s commitment to your food and one of the reasons they put their signature on every menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing