We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay, prices a little expensive for the size of the rooms”
Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wykeham Arms
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The rooms are gorgeous, don't get me wrong, the staff are fantastic the food great, atmosphere rights any wrongs that I have with the Wykeham...

For dog owners make sure that you book via another site other than the direct one for they tried to charge an extra 15 quid per night for cleaning ( hoovering after the dog)

With the discount ( - 50 quid on-line compared to telephone booking) still cost 325 for 2 nights, so a little steep, however location + atmosphere + friendly staff + great beer = makes for a great time, just need to tweak those prices Fullers!

Room Tip: Go for a room with the victorian bath we were stuck with a shower, albeit a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soren1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 913 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

I don’t normally stay at “Inns with rooms” but I thought I’d give this one a try, based upon reviews and its excellent location in the heart of the city.

The staff were very friendly upon arrival and suggested that I have lunch in the restaurant while the room was prepared. I was quite hungry after my journey, so thought this to be an excellent idea. The food wasn’t bad, except for the “twice cooked” chips - cooked once too often and were very hard. The portion sizes are small if you have an appetite.

The room was at the very top of the building and you need to be fairly fit to carry your luggage up all the steep stairs. Whilst clean and quite tastefully decorated, it was much smaller than expected (given the price). It did get very stuffy and the windows let in all the noise from the street below. The hot water tap in the basin scalded my hand and I had to hold it under cold water for some time to alleviate the pain. It was impossible to regulate the water temperature in the shower too! I erred on the side of caution and kept the temperature on the cold side - not ideal.

The bar area is fascinating and well worth a look around but I don’t anticipate staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeadingLadyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Three of us arrived for lunch having booked a table. With prices for a main meal reaching £19 fr a pub lunch, our expectations were high.

However, we weren't overly impressed: the portions were on the small side, and the supposedly hot food, though delicious, was tepid. While the service was good and friendly - no complaints there - and the atmosphere was just what you want from an old pub, especially in winter, we expected more from the food and left feeling a bit ripped-off when we'd paid almost £100 (for one drink, one mail meal and a pudding each).

That said, I'd be willing to give it another try (and post my experiences) in the hope that this was a one-off.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mdubash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Loved the Wykeham Arms from the moment we arrived and the staff moved cars around the car park to fit us in. Best posible location, lovely quiet and comfortable suite (Bakehouse), great atmosphere, fantastic food and a proper pint - there is little more in life to ask for.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Returned after 10 years and room still as cosy and comfy as we remember. Kelsey was a lovely large room with a big bed and good size bathroom, if a little battered looking. Pity we couldn't get rid of the subtitles on the T.V. The pub hasn't changed at all which is great, nice to see a bit of history still being kept alive. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They weren't taking any more restaurant bookings as it was 4 days before christmas and they were bursting at the seams, but when they knew we were stay with them they managed to fit us in. The food was very good but a bit on the sparse side. For £10.00 we did expect more than TWO scallops. I don't know why other reviewers comment on small breakfast's, mine was more than I could eat, but do ask for more toast, that's a bit on the small side. The car park is a bonus but pick your spot wisely you might get blocked in.

Room Tip: Room's across the road are spacious and fairly quiet, only noise issue is the floors creak a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shmucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This was our second visit and will not be our last. Having stayed in a variety of hotels and B and B's of all star ratings, this one comes out very highly on our list of memorable trips for all the good reasons. The rooms are immaculate and well serviced with hospitality and toiletries. Our grumble is that the booking side of things was a tad sketchy and advise anyone staying to take your confirmation slips with any special requirements etc on it that was promised. However, once mistakes were acknowledged, they are remedied.The food is lovely and served in a warm environment. Looking forward to another trip or two in 2012.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms on the opposite side to the pub but noise in general dies down after 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevonMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed for 1 night during the 2nd weekend of December mainly to see our son at the university and also to take advantage of the Christmas market.

Pub is a very traditional former coaching inn, full of period features but with all modern comforts. Our room was across the road in the annexe (Chapel View), was spotlessly clean, well equipped and very peaceful. The mini bar contained complimentary bottled water, beer and fresh milk. Bathroom was a good size with bath and shower attachment (no walk-in shower).

Staff were extremely efficient, friendly and helpful (especially Alex) despite being fully booked and very busy.

The pub is a couple of minutes walk from the cathedral and main shopping area and also has the benefit of a compact car park for residents only. The staff ask you to leave your car keys if blocking other cars, they can then shuffle cars around if needed!

We had dinner in the evening which was excellent, not cheap but not ordinary pub grub either. I would describe it as fine dining, very imaginative and beautifully presented.
Breakfast was a real highlight, the restaurant was very Christmassy with lovely decorations, fairy lights and carols playng on Classic FM. The food was every bit as good as dinner with quality ingredients in the cooked breakfast and the most wonderful rich natural yoghurt with fruit compote and home made pastries.

Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnyskyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
670 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $132 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Chefs know you can only make great food with the best ingredients. So they demand that seasonal, local produce is delivered fresh every day. That’s our Chef’s commitment to your food and one of the reasons they put their signature on every menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing