We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend”
Review of Marwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Romantic weekend”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I found the Marwell Hotel via a Groupon deal and took my partner there for two nights. There was a little confusion with the booking due to the Groupon voucher but Katie from the hotel was lovely and organised everything for us.
We went on a snowy Monday and the hotel looked lovely. The decor is very trendy and is slightly quirky which we appreciated. We stayed in the tiger suite, room 115, and was very pleasant. We had breakfast included with the deal and it was very nice, service was impeccable. On our second day we went to the Marwell Zoo which is two minutes walk away and even though it was snowing (!) it was a lovely day out.
We used the swimming pool and jacuzzi which again were lovely. The only slight downfall was that the corridors leading to the rooms are freezing!! Although this didn't really bother us.
Overall a lovely experience and will definitely be returning at a later date. I highly recommend it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Hilts116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliBastian, General Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Hilts116,

Many thanks for your wonderful review!

It is a pleasure to hear that Katie arranged everything for you and I will thank her personally on your behalf.

I am so pleased that you managed to see the hotel during the snow – it really did look beautiful here, as did Marwell Zoo – a very unique time to visit!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and particularly that you found our service ‘impeccable’, as it is particularly important to me that we offer exactly that.

Many thanks again and I very much hope we may welcome to back to Marwell Hotel soon.

With kindest regards
Oliver Bastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    433
    258
    113
    66
See reviews for
366
428
31
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We returned yesterday from a long weekend at the Marwell Hotel and had a fantastic time.

The hotel was set in a beautiful location and the facilities were great. The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful.

We ate at the hotel all three of the nights, the first two in the bar area where the food was delicious! Lovely selection of food and great quality. We loved it. We ate in the main dining room on our final night which also was delicious.

Would highly recommend this hotel, very welcoming and had a perfect stay. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliBastian, General Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Margaret B,

Thank you for such a glowing review!

I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our superb location, facilities, staff and that you found the food delicious.

I very much appreciate you writing such an excellent review and I am thrilled that you describe your stay as ‘perfect’. We are always striving to continually improve our service so I hope your next stay with us will be even more enjoyable!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel soon.

With kindest regards
Oliver Bastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

With the coldest corridors! As others have said the Hotel is built as a series of "pavilions" which are reached along glass sided walkways. Though the corridor to the "Tiger pavilion", in which we were staying had electric heaters in the ceiling they were not in use, making a speedy transit between the room and the reception area a necessity, and fortunately it was a reasonably warm January this year. This was our only minor criticism of the Hotel, which otherwise was excellent for the couple of nights we stayed there. The staff were cheerful and helpful, the general manager was even found in our room at one point wrestling with our recalcitrant shower in the absence of the maintenance manager. We had breakfasts at the hotel which were very good but did not otherwise sample the catering. We used the pool both mornings and it was pleasantly warm but is part of a very compact leisure suite which had there been more families staying might I suspect get very quickly "over-run". If we need to find accommodation in the Winchester area in the future we would not hesitate to book in here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Spwells2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliBastian, General Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Spwells2002,

Thank you for a lovely review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do very much pride ourselves on the staff at the hotel and their high level of customer service so it is wonderful to hear that you agree! I was very happy to help with your shower in the maintenance manager’s absence. We are a family owned and operated hotel so a very close team and always happy to help.

Unfortunately the heaters in the corridors no longer work due to the fitting required no longer being manufactured. We have also decided not to replace the heaters due to sustainability – these heaters are not energy-efficient due to the heat being lost very easily through the windows and are therefore not very environmentally friendly. I’m sure you agree that the walkways are lovely in the way that you can see the surrounding woodland and nature.

Many thanks again for your kind review and we very much hope we may welcome you to Marwell Hotel again in the near future.

With kindest regards
Oliver Bastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We thought the hotel was lovely. Staff friendly. The room, clean, comfortable. The breakfast was presented beautifully and tasted lovely. The afternoon tea we had was a very good size. My little girl loved going in the pool which was a good size for a swim. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The room we were given had bunk beds which would be great for a a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliBastian, General Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear QueenRach,

Thank you for such a fantastic review!

All of your comments are wonderful to read and greatly appreciated. It is so important to us that our guests have an enjoyable stay at Marwell Hotel so your comments are extremely valuable to us.

Thank you so much and I very much hope we may welcome you back to Marwell Hotel soon.

With kindest regards
Oliver Bastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for 1 night B & B with afternoon tea on a groupon deal.
The hotel itself as someone else has described is along the line of an african safari lodge, there are a number of lodges housing a number of rooms inter connected by long windowed corridors through the woods.
Our room was spacious, modern and nicley decorated which included a bunk bed for our 3yr old which she loved as Pepper Pig has one, just one problem....which one to sleep on ( she tried both for a bit ). The rooms were clean as was the rest of the hotel and the bar area which was near the reception looked very stylish. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful and always greeted you with a smile when you walked past.
We didnt eat at the hotel in the evening as we had plans, but we did have a very enjoyable afternoon tea, which included some very nice sandwiches, scones, jam and a mountain of cream, along with some cakes.
Breakfast was in the dining area and included plenty of fresh Juice, cereals and mini pastries, we also had the full english which was made with top notch ingredients which was inclued in the price, other items were available and i rather over indulged by ordering a side order or american pancakes with bacon and syrup, basically because i have not had it before and wanted to know what it was like......very nice but couldnt finish them.
The Pool was also very nice and was warmer than average which was good for my 3yr old who can get cold very easily.
All in all would highly recommend and would definetley go again, especially if visiting the Zoo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dungeon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliBastian, General Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear dungeon1970,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Marwell Hotel. It is lovely to read your comments and the particular highlights you experienced.

We pride ourselves on being a family-friendly hotel, so it is great to hear that your daughter especially loved the bunk beds and the swimming pool!

I am also delighted to read that you found the staff friendly and the food delicious!

Thank you again for your kind comments, we really do appreciate your feedback and very much look forward to welcoming you back to Marwell Hotel in the near future.

With kindest regards
Oliver Bastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a lovely hotel and what pleasant and helpful staff! We didn't want to leave the hotel or the room with the exceptionally comfortable beds. Stayed here 6 years ago for a wedding and it was as fab then as it is now. The food was outstanding and tasty and room service was especially fast and efficient. The hotel itself including the leisure facilities were extremely clean and tidy. The pool and jacuzzi was lots of fun - recommend a late check out to make full use of this!
Thank you Marwell Hotel for a thoroughly great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliBastian, General Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear RLW101,

Thank you for such a lovely review; it is a real pleasure to read such wonderful feedback.

I am so pleased regarding your comments about the staff, comfort, facilities, service and food. Our hotel is family owned and operated, making it a truly personal delight for me to hear that our customers have enjoyed their stay with us.

Thank you again for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay and I very much hope we may welcome you back to Marwell Hotel soon.

With kindest regards
Oliver Bastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed 1 night here as part of a Groupon deal including entrance to Marwell Animal Park opposite. The hotel is an unusual design as it looks like an African village and is decorated internally with tribal masks, shields etc. Very well appointed and stylish inside. We had a superior room which was large with a sofa and a massive bed. Nice decor,a stylish bathroom and warm without needing to put the heating on. Some toilereries were provided and tea and coffee making supplies too.

Had an evening meal which was very good I had crab cakes whihc were very small and came with no bread or proper salad accompaniement but were tasty. The cheese board was very small too so a bit overpriced at £5.50.

I asked when booking if there would be vegetable alternatives such as veggie sausage for break fast and was told there was but at breakfast there was no such thing so just had poached eggs, mushrooms and half a tomato instead of the full breakfast which included sausages, bacon and black pudding. Toast, croissants, juices, cereals, tea or coffee and even some natural yoghurt so eveything else provided.

There was a xmas party going on in the evening but that was far away from our room so we were not disturbed.

There was a spa including heated pool but we didn't use it.

Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a superior room on booking which was spacious with a large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliBastian, General Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Lynda B,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, I am so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us and very much appreciate your feedback.

It is great to hear that you liked our hotel design, which is certainly very unique. We have also had some bedrooms and our main function room recently refurbished, which are looking truly stunning. Hopefully you will experience these on your next visit!

I appreciate your comments regarding the dinner and breakfast and will pass these onto the Chef.

Many thanks again and I very much hope we may welcome you to Marwell Hotel again soon.

With kindest regards
Oliver Bastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.7 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,739 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
7.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Property: Marwell Hotel
Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marwell Hotel is based just outside Winchester, opposite Marwell Wildlife. Surrounded by woodlands, it really is a place for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing