We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Meal, Cozy Atmopshire” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox and Hounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #29 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Meal, Cozy Atmopshire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had looked for somewhere to eat for ages and after seeing a sign taking us to the fox and hounds, we were pleased. Very friendly staff, Lovely cozy atmosphere with a log fire etc.. We had pate to start. Absolutely delicious. Not served with enough toast but im sure they would have given us more if we had have asked i just didn't want to seem greedy. My partner had a steak, It was cooked to perfection and served with delicious homemade chips but at £19.99 he thought it was slightly over priced. Overall we had a great evening and the food was fresh and very tasty.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vb140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
22
50
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
basingstoke
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We called in for Sunday lunch, not having been before, but it came up on a website. The building itself was spectacular, though somewhat lacking in atmosphere inside.
The welcome was very warm and all the staff extremely friendly and attentive. I was a little concerned at first as our cutlery was stuck to the table, but the waitress explained that the tables had recently been varnished!
The portions were very generous and good value, two courses for £12.95 I think. Food was ok, nothing fabulous, but equally nothing wrong.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pebblecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Myself and family of 13 today has the Sunday Roast. The staff and meal were excellent. I can honestly say we could not find one fault. If you want a fab roast in a beautiful pub, set in a stunning village do not hesitate and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

First time I have ever eaten a Sunday Lunch in a pub. Not expecting it like Mum used to cook, pleasantly surprised. My wife had Ham & Pea soup to start and I had mackerel. For mains we had turkey and beef, both beautifully cooked and tasty, the veg. were freshly prepared and not mushy as I dreaded. Service was great, lovely cosy atmosphere and all reasonably priced for either 2 or 3 courses. I shall now expect all pub Sunday lunches to be of this quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful
The pub is quaint and atmospheric
The room we stayed in (one of the outside chalets) was adequate for our overnight stay but would benefit from a bit of refurbishment, especially the bathroom.
Location is picturesque 'chocolate box' pretty
Food is first class (not cheap but you get what you pay for) portions are good size.
Overall 8/10.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We chose the Fox and Hounds for Sunday Lunch as its location is reasonably central for family members travelling from various points in the south of England. What a wise choice! The food was fantastic with plenty of choice for each course and everything we ordered was delicious. We particularly appreciated the bread baskets filled with extra Yorkshire puddings which were soon woofed down! The service was very friendly and attentive and made the occasion very enjoyable and all at a reasonable cost. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We recently had dinner here one Monday evening. The parking round the back wasn't very good - big 4x4s were taking up 2 spaces each - but I guess that's not the pub's fault! Inside the atmosphere was a little dead, the glasses were grubby and the candle was out of oil...not the best of starts. Anyway, the food was excellent. We both ordered steak and triple-cooked chips. All cooked to perfection. We enjoyed a glass of red, too. The meat is from the local farm shop and it really makes a difference. The staff were friendly as well. Worth a visit, but not sure if I'll rush back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndoMando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Northbrook Arms
Northbrook Arms
#12 of 53 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Running Horse
The Running Horse
#15 of 53 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Cricketers Inn
The Cricketers Inn
#13 of 53 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Hounds

Property: The Fox and Hounds
Address: The Fox & Hounds | Crawley, Winchester SO21 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Fox And Hounds Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing