We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a solid unexciting pleasant not cheap but not expensive well located place to stay when visiting Winchester. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The highlight of the stay is the breakfast, which is well worth having. A good place to sleep and use as a base - hard to say more really.

Room Tip: You don't stay for the view: the cheaper rooms are quite small and the next level up better in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanglea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Nanglia,Pleased to hear that our location ticked all the boxes for visiting Winchester and that the team were all friendly and helpful. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to mercure winchester in the future. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    485
    332
    141
    67
See reviews for
180
593
76
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I booked online via the Mercure website and asked for our usual room overlooking the cathedral. They clearly didn't get the message as they tried and check us into to a "classic" room. £10 less , much smaller, pretty dingy, and overlooking a brick wall and the bins. They moved us swiftly on request but those rooms are pretty grim ! Always request the executive room they are only £10 more , seem at least half the size again and are light and airy with great views. Above average breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidCDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear DavidCDevon,Thanks for your review. Glad you got the room you wanted in the end. I am not sure if you booked an executuive room but apologise if we made a mistake and allocated you a classic room in error. Hope to see you again later in the year . Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Me and my partner stayed in the first week of January as we were visiting our family in Winchester area. Hotel easy to find, just a few steps away from the Cathedral. From outside looked dated but inside cosy.

On arrival we where meet by very polite and helpfull member of staff / manager ( ? ) I used to work in hospitality but his customer service was mile away from typical. Excellent, considerate and very professional. Received a basic information about town, atractions and place to visit - also help with the lugagges. As I remember his name was Kamil ( do apologize for wrong spelling) . We received a beatiful, spacious room overlooking the Cathedral - on the second / mezzanine floor. The only complain about bedroom was a stain on the carpet between sofa bed and curtain.

After long journey we tried to order a quick snacks and something to drink before going out and just enjoy the view of the Cathedral. Unfortunately we tried several times called for room service - without any luck.

Decided to call to reception. As I recognized Kamil answered the phone and immediately took our order. Food was quite fast ( approx 20). Portion were fare and quality very good.

When we come back late, bar was still open for the residents. Price a little bit high and not enough selection of spirits.

In the morning fully enjoyed english breakfast and magnificent view of Cathedral. Food was hot, well presented and very tasty. We were served by Luca ( manager as well ? ) . Also great service !

We would definately recommended the hotel for our family living in WInchester area and looking forward to see you again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the Cathedral - costs nothing but you will enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopster L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Hopster L, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Winchester. I am delighted that you would recommend us to your family and are looking forward to staying with us again.
I have passed on your comments to both Luca and Kamil along with my personal thanks for the excellent service they provided to you. They were naturally very proud to have been recognised in person. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Winchester. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed over after a wedding at the hotel. The rooms were clean and well maintained but not huge. We paid a bit extra to overlook the cathedral which was worthwhile, it is a lovely view. Worth noting that the double glazing is excellent so you won't get disturbed by bells on a Sunday morning! I think the key to the hotel is its location which we didn't take advantage of and therefore found the hotel a little expensive. The staff were all lovely, Daniel at the bar was particularly helpful. The problem with this hotel is the car parking which is extremely limited and costs extra. We have a young baby and associated paraphernalia so I enquired about booking a space but it was first come first served. There was a space available when we got there but we weren't allowed to use it as it had been allocated to another guest! Very disappointing. On the plus side the public car parks are free after 6 and on Sundays but we had to park 15 mins away. The car park opposite the hotel has a 4 hour limit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hels1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Hels1978, Thanks very much for posting a review. Pleased to hear you found the room clean, well maintained and fabulous views of The Cathedral. The team appreciate your positive feedback about them and Daniel in particular was chuffed to have been mentioned by name. Like you I was disappointed to hear that you were denied an available parking space as we should never hold spaces for any guests. I have reminded the team that for consistency this must always be the case and that only Brides and Registrars attending weddings at the hotel are permitted to have a space reserved. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here for a family wedding which was taking place in the hotel. On looking at the website I would not have stayed here originally out of choice. However, the experience was very positive and exceeded my expectations. The hotel yes is very 1960s but inside they have done a pertty good job and some quality decorating. It is a little functional but has some warmth and character in the bar and the main restaurant area. The bedrooms are well furnished and finished and the beds super comfy - especially the Privelege rooms. Food was a little disappointing - tasty enough but the eggs benedict ordered especially at breakfast was a little hastily put together with too much salty bacon and a great blob of hollandaise - needs a little bit more French style and flair I think in the kitchen. There is a good drinks selection in the bar. Great location too - fabulous views from the rooms on 2nd floor of the cathedral. And it's the staff who really make the place. Eager to help - smiling and happy from the cleaners to the waiters, bar staff and reception - really pleasant. And pre-paying the booking online made it feel excellent value. Would happily come back again.

Room Tip: Pay a litte more and choose a Privelege room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShugsyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Shugsylondon, Thank you very much for your very positive review. I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations. You very kind comments about the team which has been shared with them all are much appreciated. I do agree that they really make the place. You say you would happily come back Mercure Winchester again- we really hope you do. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

One night stay during Christmas Market. Privilege Room overlooking the cathedral. Reception staff were very professional and welcoming. We arrived early in the day and were able to park our car and check-in and come back a little later to gain access to the room. The room was very comfortable. A good size with a superking bed, comfortable seating and a lovely view onto the cathedral. The room was clean and quiet and well serviced. For some reason the restaurant was closed, but we were directed to a very good French restaurant nearby. We had a drink in the bar which was unremarkable. Breakfast was also good enough, but quite ordinary. All in all a very pleasant stay and I would return to this hotel. The hotel itself is, unfortunately, a very ugly building which is quite out of place in its setting. However, you can't see this when you're inside!

Room Tip: Perhaps a privilege room is larger with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear AlistairP, Delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us at Mercure Winchester Wessex and would return in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back when you do. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Property: Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Address: Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 94 en suite rooms, many with views of the Cathedral. Ideal for visiting Winchester Cathedral, the steam railway and zoological park. Easily accessible via the M3, 15 miles (24 km) from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Winchester railway station and a 1 minute walk from the coach station. Features five airconditioned conference rooms for up to 100 delegates, Walkers At The Wessex restaurant, Kings Lounge, 24 hour room service, pay parking as well as use of the nearby leisure centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wessex Winchester Hotel Winchester
Accor Wessex Winchester
Mercure Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing