We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Marwell Hotel(Winchester)
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$122
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$101
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$171
$152
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wykeham Arms(Winchester)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Sutton Scotney South(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$54
$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,543)
Filter reviews
1,543 results
Traveler rating
260
582
409
186
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
582
409
186
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral viewprivilege roomhigh streetcar parkingexcellent locationbit datedgood sizeeggs benedictbuffet breakfastcity centrelovely cityfollowing morninglovely roomfull englishbells
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,023 - 1,028 of 1,543 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great hotel, amazing location - one BIG problem - the hotel front doors, automatic, let in a gale force wind every time someone goes near those doors(every 10 seconds?!) Be warned - dress in full outdoor arctic gear to go to breakfast(delicious) Very friendly, would go again but please CHANGE THOSE DOORS!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank chop59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear chop59, We really appreciate being recognised as a great hotel. Thanks very much for your kind words. There is a lot to be said in favour of revolving doors which I often wish we had. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have stayed here the last two years for weekend visits to Winchester and the Beer Festival at the Guildhall. The hotel is very ugly looking from the outside but is a gem on the inside. The rooms are good value, spacious and can look out directly over the cathedral. The location is superb, right in the heart of the city making this the best place to stay in our opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank khouseago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dearkhouseago,Thanks very much for your kind words. They are very much appreciated by us all. We really are the best place place to stay when visiting central Winchester. Thanks for telling everyone. See you soon I hope. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Location next to Winchester Cathedral and in the center of town was fantastic, but the lack of quality staff showed, the same person served you at breakfast, dinner and at the bar.
Everywhere there are electric convector heaters but the Hotel was still on the cool side, the wife just could'nt get warm, Easter was cold !
Basic Errors by waiting staff was common, long waits at times to be served at the bar just added to the annoyance in general "Disappointing

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Freelander338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Freelander338, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I was concerned to read your comments about the shortfall in service you experienced as many previous comments have been most positive and complimentary. I have however passed them on to The Food and Beverage Manager to review. I sincerely hope you will return to us on your next visit to Winchester. Kind regards, William McWiliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was another very pleasant stay at the Mercure Winchester. Its worth booking a cathedral view as it makes a glorious view on a bright sunny morning flinging open the curtains to a fantastic view of this beautiful building against a brilliant blue sky. The view on the otherside overlooking the back of shops not so great I suspect. The location is great so really handy for exploring Winchester, service very pleasant and breakfast decent enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear DavidCDevon, Delighted to hear you had another good stay at Mercure Winchester. Thanks for returning to experience the great location , pleasant service and decent breakfast. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotel is located in central Winchester. Once you've navigated the way through the narrow one way system there's limited parking available at the hotel. Once that's sorted I found the room to be good, clean and comfortable with a nice bed though the decor is getting on a bit - but not bad. Loo was a bit cramped and water pressure could have been better in the shower. The location is a few hundred metres from Winchester cathedral (if you're lucky you can get a room overlooking it, rather than the brick offices on the other side) and just around the corner from pubs and restaurants. Ate out in the evening so can't comment on the food but the breakfast (typical hotel prices) was good with options of a buffet or menu options such as eggs Benedict. Service good. Allow time for the slow traffic out of Winchester in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Cathedral side.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear ITTraveller, Thanks for your review. Glad you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your breakfast . Hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Winchester. Kind regards, William McWilliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews