We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the Royal for one night whilst attending a wedding. The hotel is well located to access the city centre and the on-site car park is a definite plus. Our room, which was situated in the newer part of the hotel, was spacious, modern and nicely decorated, however, without air-con, it was very warm overnight. As we were on the 1st floor we felt safe enough opening the windows fully which helped a bit, although without any net curtains or frosted glass, we felt a bit exposed during the day as our room was overlooked by some flats opposite. We didn't really spend any length of time at the hotel, although the older part of the hotel was full of character and the beautiful gardens looked very appealing in the sunny weather.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RacheyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear RacheyJ,

Thank you for your feedback and we will use this as part of our ongoing commitment to improving our service where we can and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,778 - 1,784 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for one night - fabulous room overlooking wonderful walled Garden, very comfortable huge bed with great en suite bathroom - and great service in a well stocked bar - wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Winchester -

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannebecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Suzanne,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to receive your positive feedback and that The Winchester Royal Hotel is your venue of choice when staying in Winchester.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Me and my partner were very disappointed when visiting this hotel, we decided to splash out a little on a nice hotel for the weekend, however when we arrived we were told that our room wouldn't be ready for an hour and a half after the original check in time. This was really disappointing as we wanted to have a quick shower and then have a look around the city. The bed was lumpy. However the worse part of the experience was the fact that when we went up to reception the staff looked at us like we were lost, just because we were younger than the normal customers we felt a little out of place with the way staff were looking at us.
A good idea for the hotel would be to offer a late check out service as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JadeVictoria9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear JadeVictoria9,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that your room was not ready on arrival I will of coiurse take this up with the agency we use as rooms have to be ready for check in. The beds have all recently been purchased as part of our refurbishment and we generally receive very few complaints about these in fact quite the opposite.

We do offer a late checkout for a small surcharge which is available upon request and subject to availability. I am sorry that you felt the receptionists were looking at you becuase of your age I can assure that they are used to dealing with people of all ages but I will of course ensure this feedback is reviewed with them.

If you are planning to visit the area again please email me on gm.winchester@sjhotels.co.uk

Best regards

Louis Rigney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The hotel has a marvellous location, for visiting historic Winchester. We had a good welcome at Reception, and they were very helpful with changes we made with our booking. Our room was very good; cool in the heat of summer, and with a good view over the garden. The staff were generally very polite and helpful but, I felt, better management could easily improve their performance. Breakfast on our first day was a shambles: we were not given any advice on where to sit, which was important, as there was not one table cleared and ready to receive us. We enjoyed the meals, but thought the choices for dinner were limited. Staying two nights we had practically the same dishes on both days, as we were not tempted by the other choices. We think it would make a great improvement if the menu showed some differences from day to day. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but felt it would not be difficult to lift the standards to the highest.

Room Tip: In Summer, choose a first-floor room overlooking the garden, providing you have no trouble with stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Brian W,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear of the difficulties experienced during your stay particularly at breakfast, we have recently appointed a new Breakfast supervisor to ensure that issues such as this are rectified.

Our dinner menu has over 25 items on it and it usually offers enough choice for most of our guests? I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and we will of course take your constructive feedback on board to make improvements where necessary.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future?

Best regards

Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel could be fantastic. It is a very good city centre location and we were lucky to get quite possibly the tightest car parking space in the car park. Service here was poor in our opinion and was the main reason the review is only 3 out of 5.

I would like to agree with a past review here - draft beer did run out here (Saturday night - no Carlsberg on tap, no San Miguel on tap, no Guinness) so I can only assume the bar staff couldn't be bothered to change the barrel as mentioned in hotel feedback, because we asked for one and was told they didn't have any. Breakfast was poor - we were brought very burnt toast - surely anyone with standards wouldn't serve this to guests, and the hot selection was very poor quality.

The general feeling was the staff always seemed very rushed and need to engage better with their guests, as we felt they were rude at times which really lets the place down.

The room was ok, and with air-con would help enormously, and I really hope this hotel sorts out the obvious issues it has because as I have put in my title, it could and deserves to be so much better than it currently is.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Philc81,

Thank you for your review, I apologise that we appear to have failed in our service to you in a number of areas and I regret to note that we ran out of beer, the service issues experienced are unacceptable and I will be taking remedial action to address these points.

Please rest assured that all feedback is shared with our team and thank you for taking the time to bring this to my attention.

Best regards

Louis Rigney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We overnighted at the Winchester Royal Hotel and were pleased that it had an off-street car park, as parking is tricky around the old part of Winchester. The hotel is very centrally placed, and has a fascinating history. We found the staff really pleasant, and our room very clean and comfortable. The dinner and breakfast were excellent value, and beautifully prepared and presented. There is a 'secret garden', where you can sit and read, take a drink or have your meal. Altogether, it gave the backdrop to a lovely visit to Winchester.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Penny F,

Thank you for your wonderful review, I delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your kind comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a very pleasant overnight stay (a deal through Travelzoo which offered good value for money) in the Royal Winchester Hotel located in the heart of lovely city of Winchester. We found the staff very friendly, hard working and helpful at all times. We were in the extension and our room was spacious and clean. However, it must be said there were a few niggles (finishing touches) that if sorted out would have made our review 5 out of 5. As it was a warm evening the room could do with a fan to keep you cool. The loo didn't have a lid and there was no mention of WiFi in the room information folder. A WiFi code was obtained from reception for each device but we couldn't get the WiFi to work. The breakfast food selection was impressive, but there appeared to be too few staff on duty as they had a problem keeping the hot items topped up and the plates being cleared away. If we had stayed more than one night we would have complained but as I say these were niggles for the one night. At check out we were handed a card to leave an honest review at Tripadvisor so I have obliged. This hotel just needs a few finishing touches.

Room Tip: A room facing into the hotel garden, ours overlooked the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear BobD,

Thank you for your feedback and for your kind comments in respect of the staff. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel, we welcome constructive feedback and we will be using your comments to make improvements and iron out these "niggles" wherever we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
671 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: 21-22 St. Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England (Formerly Winchester Royal Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range: $86 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing