We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lainston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lainston House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Lainston”
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We stayed here for one night as stop off before heading off to the Isle of Wight - we just wished now that we had stayed for longer! We had a beautiful room, lovely and spacious and the bathroom was incredible, with a free standing bath and amazing walk in shower. We had a few bellinis on the terrace overlooking the stunning scenery before having the most incredible dinner. We opted for the Tasting Menu with matching wines and we were really impressed - the service and food were fantastic and the sommelier was very informative about the wines chosen, all in all a great evening! We just about managed the full english the next day and left feeling totally relaxed. It really is a beautiful place and it was the perfect start to a long weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniBreakerBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    197
    83
    46
    16
See reviews for
188
568
14
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed back in March on a fantastic deal from Booking.com (unfortunately no longer available). The hotel is very impressive on the approach, very grand and even in early spring, such lovely grounds. Possibly looked a little bit worse for wear (I guess they wait for the wedding season to start before they clear away all the fallen branches), but that's being very picky.
Our car was parked just outside the front door, which we were very chuffed about. The young man who showed us to our room was friendly and gave us a lot of info about the hotel.
Our room was right at the back of the hotel in the newest extension to the original house. I guess you'd call it traditional decoration. Not to our taste, but it was a massive room, with two king sized beds. The bathroom was definitely the best we've seen in a hotel. Huge shower, deep bath, underfloor heating and absolutely spotless.
Staff were all very friendly, happy to chat with us, despite it being quite a busy weekend. Oh and make sure you have a drink in the cedar bar - you might see a helicopter drop off some guests in the gardens!
Would suggest eating at the Plough in the village. Fantastic food, great atmosphere. Restaurant in the hotel is a bit stiff in comparison.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed just one night and we were very very impressed. We stayed in one of the attic rooms which was charming and very well furnished. Our dinner was absolutely delicious and we had a wonderful bottle of Burgundy to go with our meal. We all enjoyed our food both vegetarians and meat eaters alike. Before dinner we used the bicycles, which were a bit tired, but we went for a lovely cycle ride round the grounds. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. After the little one went to bed we came down for cocktails on the veranda. We experienced a lovely old-fashioned service in the bar. The pianist was very good and the view from the veranda was stunning. For couples I would recommend this as a most romantic destination. It is not cheap I'm afraid but I would say it was well worth the money and I can't wait for us to go again!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WISDOMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My wife and I spent 3 lovely days at this hotel to celebrate our pearl wedding anniversary. We were greeted by the staff who were all very friendly and professional and taken to our room. We stayed in Pine which is a fabulous room with a magnificent bathroom.
We enjoyed the food - the breakfasts were really nice and the dining was first class. It's a tad expensive but it was a special occasion for us so the cost didn't really matter too much. There was a wedding on the Saturday (our 1st day) so there was a lot of folk there but as they were in the function suite it really did not make a lot of difference to us except the car park was a bit full - but we still managed to park.
The flowers for my wife from the hotel was a lovely surprise and the free bottle of champagne left in our room on arrival (part of the 'last minute deal') was none of your cheap rubbish you get at lesser hotels!
Special people at the hotel that we got to know were Valerie, James and Thomas but all staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to all age ranges and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebarns1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2010

My husband and I attended a wedding here & it was fantastic. Great setting, great food, great staff.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonMsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Treated myself and my fiance to a Valentine's Day overnight stay. I had visited the hotel on a previous ocassion for a wedding and was rather uninpressed then about the interior. Nothing much had changed. The exterior of building is beautiful but oh dear shame about the interior. The interior designer should be reprimanded for ruining a perfectly lovely building. The lounge or morning room where we had tea on arrival is simply ghastly with sixties style velour furniture which is so cluttered that you can hardly move. The green leaf style wall paper does nothing to enhance the effect. What is wrong with old fashioned chintz which would be inkeeping with the hotel? The staff were however very helpful on check in particularly the porter who made serveral trips out to my car to collect things. Our room was modern and comfortable and the bathroom's rather impressive with TV by the bath. The bar area reminds me of a cross between a tired gentlemans club i once visited in Liverpool and a pub.
Dinner was overpriced and rather pretentious. Tiny nouveau cuisine portions in a county house hotel personally was not to my liking. Breakfast which we had in our room was again overpriced (£40+) and really not up to much.
The worst was yet to come. The hotel does not present you with bills to sign as you go along. The result is that as you leaveyou are given a huge bill that is difficult to check when you check out.
Overall this was a disappointing visit to a hotel that i had high hopes for. Shame.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimothyBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

This was our secdon weekend away at Lainston House, and as with the previous one, it was great. The staff here is extremely helpful and friendly. Everything did not (unlike last time) go like clockwork (a couple of mistakes made on meals etc) but were apologetically and quickly resolved to our satisfaction. The food itself was great, and the room was huge and well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnesTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
2.7 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lainston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lainston House Hotel

Property: Lainston House Hotel
Address: Woodman Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester S021 2LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lainston House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive through the gates of Lainston House, up the winding drive, you will enter a world where historic charm and contemporary elegance blend seamlessly. This charming 17th-century country house is a luxurious five star hotel, encapsulated in 63 acres of Hampshire parkland. A peaceful drawing room, sumptuous individually designed bedrooms and food created with passion (awarded 3 AA rosettes). The Cedar Bar is the place to relax for a cocktail and the outdoor terrace is even more so for sipping a glass of Champagne or a chilled glass of wine over a light lunch in Summer months. Don't forget to book for Afternoon Tea, a day in the on-site Cookery School or a spot of Falconry, located at the back of our stunning kitchen garden. This is a classic Country House where you can put the world behind you whether it be for a creative meeting, a relaxing leisure stay or a family celebration. Minutes away from the historic city of Winchester and only a short drive from Salisbury, Stonehenge and the New Forest. Visit Jane Austin country, Highclere Castle (home of Downton Abbey), Bombay Sapphire Distillery or a local Vineyard such as Hattingley Valley. The famous River Test is close by for perfect fishing and quaint villages to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Lainston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lainston Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing