We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could live there I would!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lainston House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
“If I could live there I would!”
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Our first family trip to the English countriside proved to be the most charming and memorable experience of our two week stay in England, including London!

The staff was extremely attentive, warm and welcoming. Dave Malster was exceptional in his demeanor and ability to make us feel as if we were the only guests in the hotel! We loved our stay and we only wished that we could stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KinKtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    200
    84
    46
    16
See reviews for
190
571
14
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cyprus
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Dear Lainston Staff,

My Girlfriend and I travelled to this hotel for a romantic treat after i recently returned from Afghanistan, we were imediatley impressed with the garden, house and heli-pad!

The reception was warm efficient and friendly, no too much fuss which I liked. We were showed to our room given a quick tour and were left speechless, we were very surprised by the size, space within the suite, quite beautiful, elegantly furnished and modern with a hint of old world charm, we loved it especially the bathroom :-)

During the afternoon we had a walk of the immaculate grounds, visited the pigs, herb garden and sundial terrace. On a sunny March day it was a perfect way to work up an appetite, enjoy each others company and get some exercise.

During the evening we dined in the restaurant and were once again impressed with the service, friendliness of staff and decor. The food was prepare to the highest standard and tasted out of this world. Many thanks to chefs and restaurant staff for a fantastic meal.

After dinner we retired to the bar and sampled a simply amazing martini, so good I had several. Once again the staff were impeccable, charming and generous.......

I must thank all the staff for making out stay so memorable. We left the following day with smiles beamig all over our faces.

Many thanks

Jon n Jo
Cyprus 2010

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon-n-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

A lovely hotel with a very good restaurant, and excellent staff. Set in beautiful grounds and we had a gorgeous room overlooking the long sweeping gardens. Excellent staff and pleasant service. Winchester is a very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolly1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrayhill
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

The experience at this hotel is consistently uneven, with some of the staff completely disconnected from their job and others always seeming to be interrupted by any and all guest needs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrayhiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

The location is wonderful, secluded in magnificent green heaven, peaceful and quiet. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. Personnel is extremly nice and polite. The only service which was slightly below expectation is the restaurant. The menu is not too varied ( personally I found that pork meat was in almost any dish you could look for), the dishes are good but slighly overpriced, the service is not up to the price: despite the politness of waiters, one is often left unattended (table is not cleared during breakfast when dirty plates are put aside on the table and, perhaps because they are too busy, waiters do not show up for too long). That said we would recommended as a peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Beautiful exterior and fantastic traditional english manor house interior with great food. However we were led to a part of the hotel which is more akin (at best) to a travel lodge with the most disapointing room I have ever paid for. Small, cramped and very cold with cheap flat pack furniture and "fawlty towers" feel in the hallways. The last straw was exposed wiring in the bathroom. Be careful when booking, especially if this is a treat for a special occassion as our bedroom left me in tears.I cannot believe that a representative of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" Guide ever saw this room because the hotel would have never made it into its pages if they had. However on complaining to reception we were swiftly moved without any drama to a beautiful suite which was exactly what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeachesHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffHasler, Cliff Hasler, General Manger at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Thank you for your recent review and although we did not get off to a great start I am very pleased that we actioned your concerns and redeemed ourselves. Our Traditional Guestrooms are our entry level room and have been recently refurbished with many positive comments. I have noted your preference for a future visit and am glad we had one of our upgraded suites available on this occasion. Health & safety is of key importance to us and your observations of the light covering being detached was replaced minutes after reported. I can also confirm that a full audit of all rooms and public areas was completed with no action required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2010

First went to Lainston for a champagne tasting evening back in November 2009 and was blown away with the service and atmosphere. Francesco, the barman, is a absolute legend with his stories from Italy and his amazing cocktail making, the martini is a true must!
Returned in Jan 2010 for a birthday and the hotel really excelled itself. As a family we had 3 rooms and all were perfect. If I could recommend a room it would be the Chapel suite.
The staff are all excellent and extremely welcoming and I will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbyachts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,714 reviews
2.7 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lainston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lainston House Hotel

Property: Lainston House Hotel
Address: Woodman Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester S021 2LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lainston House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive through the gates of Lainston House, up the winding drive, you will enter a world where historic charm and contemporary elegance blend seamlessly. This charming 17th-century country house is a luxurious five star hotel, encapsulated in 63 acres of Hampshire parkland. A peaceful drawing room, sumptuous individually designed bedrooms and food created with passion (awarded 3 AA rosettes). The Cedar Bar is the place to relax for a cocktail and the outdoor terrace is even more so for sipping a glass of Champagne or a chilled glass of wine over a light lunch in Summer months. Don't forget to book for Afternoon Tea, a day in the on-site Cookery School or a spot of Falconry, located at the back of our stunning kitchen garden. This is a classic Country House where you can put the world behind you whether it be for a creative meeting, a relaxing leisure stay or a family celebration. Minutes away from the historic city of Winchester and only a short drive from Salisbury, Stonehenge and the New Forest. Visit Jane Austin country, Highclere Castle (home of Downton Abbey), Bombay Sapphire Distillery or a local Vineyard such as Hattingley Valley. The famous River Test is close by for perfect fishing and quaint villages to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Lainston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lainston Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing