We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My English countryside dreams come true”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lainston House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

As an American in love with English period dramas and classical literature, I splurged and booked one night at Lainston House. It was clearly out of my usual travel budget but oh was it ever worth it! The staff was really warm and inviting which is so important when traveling alone like I was. Especially since the dining room was way too expensive, so I had dinner in the bar while chatting with the bartender. I stayed in the spectacular lilac room, tucked up in the very top of the house. It had a beautiful bathtub and separate shower with rainfall shower head ... so I had to use both before I left. By far my favorite part had to be the small attic-like window that looked down to the breathtaking avenue of trees. I couldn't stop think about how much it looked like something out of a movie. The grounds are absolutely magical and even though it was grey, cold and rainy, I loved ever minute of walking the trails, touring the kitchen garden area and checking out the odd owl/falcon mini-zoo. Of course it helped that they have rain boots on hand to borrow before sloshing through the wet fields. By the end of my short stay, I was nowhere near ready to go and have vowed to make it back there sometime soon.

One thing I should note, I got totally lost trying to find the house so make sure you have good printed directions before going for the first time.

Room Tip: The Lilac room was amazing but up a decent amount of stairs so keep that in mind. I think it was mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talldrinkawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

The house is set in lovely grounds which offer a great place to walk in the English countryside - particularly when we were there in very cold, frosty weather. The exterior of the house is classically proportioned but internally it really could do with some TLC by someone with an eye for internal decor and good lighting as the public areas do not do justice to the building. We stayed in the original house and the bedroom and bathroom were very comfortable. However, we were above the extractor fan from the kitchen so had to keep the bathroom window shut to prevent the cooking smells filling the bedroom. If this worries you book in the newer rooms which looked very nice. The beds are very comfortable and the wifi is excellent while the staff are unfailingly charming. We ate dinner once in the dining room and the meal was fine but not exceptional while the breakfasts were good. Lainston House is about a £15 taxi ride from central Winchester and cabs were available very easily. In summary, this is a lovely venue (often used for weddings) with charming staff and an excellent centre for seeing the area...but it could be so much better if there was a little investment in the kitchen and the public rooms

Room Tip: Ask about the kitchen smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have been to Lainston House for many years, I was also married there. The architecture and grounds are stunning without being intimidating. The welcome is charming. The house has an intimate, family friendly feel. I love the crackling fires when you enter into the lobby and the smell of wood smoke. If you are lucky enough to stay in the Blue Delph room, enjoy the peace and quite, the sumptious furnishings and best of all - the view from your window. You can pretend to be lord and lady of the manor. And you can bring your dogs.
The restaurant is divine, but my favourite thing is having a martini at the bar.
My favourite, favorite hotel - ever - in the world.

Room Tip: Blue delph Room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoniaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on a Saturday night to celebrate my mother in law's 80th birthday. The first thing we saw was an open fire and the warmth of its welcome continued throughout our short stay. The bedrooms were a good size, the beds were large and comfortable and the bathrooms were on a level I have rarely experienced in the past. The bathroom had a TV and the shower was huge.
Dinner in the restaurant was delicious - my only criticism was the price of drinks in the bar. I thought £22 for a glass of Calvados was very steep. Nonetheless it was a pleasant evening and breakfast the following morning was of a high standard. Would definitely like to go back to The Lainston House again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a hidden gem. It combines luxury with exceptional home comforts. The staff are friendly and welcoming, while remaining professional at all times.The room we had was almost like a self-contained flat with the most beautiful bathroom. The food in the restaurant was exquisite and the staff incredibly charming yet unobtrusive. In particular, the scallops and wine combined superbly and the chessboard was delicious. The chap from the hotels Falconrry took time to chat to us and other guess as well as show us all his birds. All in a fantastic weekend away

Jonathan - Surbiton

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for one night in November - a real treat as we had one of the suites. Excellent service, felt totally spoilt, cannot fault the hotel in any way. The only downside was that we had to chase room service but they were there in a flash after the 2nd call! The attention from all the staff was top rate, and the ladies on reception were very welcoming, friendly and chatty. We had pre-dinner drinks and indulged in a couple of delicious cocktails. All in all, a fabulous experience - thoroughly recommend to couples for a romantic break.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Lainston House for my birthday with my husband. This hotel is pure luxury would recommend to anybody who likes the lovely things of life. Stayed as part of the lounging at Lainston deal.

The rooms are gorgeous we were very grateful to be upgraded and had a fabulous suite room with a four poster bed. Large jacuzzi bath tube with underfloor heating beautiful bath products to use. Lovely bath robes and slippers.

The food was just divine, would recommend the champagne cocktails with raspberry juice delicious. Breakfast was equally as wonderful. The room was immaculately clean and little things like the owl to put outside as a do not disturb was a lovely idea.

The staff very all very friendly and helpful thank you for making our short stay very special. We will be returning soon, I would urge anybody who is considering this hotel to book, we really could not fault a thing. Well done Lainston House staff you were completely amazing and gave a five star service.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellielou2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.7 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,815 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,016 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lainston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lainston House Hotel

Address: Woodman Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester SO21 2LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $208 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lainston House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive through the gates of Lainston House, up the winding drive, you will enter a world where historic charm and contemporary elegance blend seamlessly. This charming 17th-century country house is a luxurious five star hotel, encapsulated in 63 acres of Hampshire parkland. A peaceful drawing room, sumptuous individually designed bedrooms and food created with passion (awarded 3 AA rosettes). The Cedar Bar is the place to relax for a cocktail and the outdoor terrace is even more so for sipping a glass of Champagne or a chilled glass of wine over a light lunch in Summer months. Don't forget to book for Afternoon Tea, a day in the on-site Cookery School or a spot of Falconry, located at the back of our stunning kitchen garden. This is a classic Country House where you can put the world behind you whether it be for a creative meeting, a relaxing leisure stay or a family celebration. Minutes away from the historic city of Winchester and only a short drive from Salisbury, Stonehenge and the New Forest. Visit Jane Austin country, Highclere Castle (home of Downton Abbey), Bombay Sapphire Distillery or a local Vineyard such as Hattingley Valley. The famous River Test is close by for perfect fishing and quaint villages to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lainston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lainston Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing