We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Played a huge part in making our wedding day perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lainston House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lainston House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Played a huge part in making our wedding day perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

We chose Lainston House for our wedding after visiting many different potential venues. The barn, grounds, rooms and house are exceptional, which all combined to make our day so perfect.

The staff were all extremely helpful and courteous, and the food and service were exemplary. Yes it is expensive (for us, anyway), but you certainly get what you pay for.

Fallon, Helen and the team ensured the day ran like clockwork (even arranging perfect sunshine in April for us!)

All the rooms are beautifully decorated, and the falconry display on the SUnday was an added bonus for those who stayed the Saturday night.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justwed2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    189
    81
    45
    15
See reviews for
180
550
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Finally getting round to posting a review, following our wedding at Lainston House earlier this year. I cannot rate Lainston highly enough. Lovely rooms, wonderful food, fantastic grounds and incredible staff. The whole experience was amazing from start to finish. Yes, Lainston is expensive compared to other local hotels but in our eyes well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

Had the most wonderful stay at Lainston - from the fantastic welcome, beautiful suite and fantastic meal we couldn't complain, beautiful house and grounds much better than most 5 stars we have stayed in - we will be back!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank T_IRLUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

Having read some of the recent reviews on TA I was a bit concerned about what we would find, but service at all times was very helpful and friendly. We had a really warm welcome when we arrived at the hotel and everyone was cheerful and keen to see that we were happy throughout our stay.
The food was very good - we had a really delicious tasting menu which was part of a wine-tasting dinner, and the courses were all delicious, although they could have been a little more substantial; inevitably with these menus you have lots of small courses and they were just perhaps a little too small. However, quality and taste were both first rate. The admin was a bit chaotic - we had chosen some variations to the menu in advance to cater for allergies/intolerances, and although the message was obviously received by the kitchen that there were certain things some of us couldn't eat, we didn't have the alternatives that had been suggested, we had something completely different. It actually didn't matter, they were equally good and everyone was very happy with the courses provided, we just wondered what the point had been of offering specific alternatives in advance if they were going to be different on the day.
The room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom was large and very well equipped, a fantastic huge walk in shower for example. During the night I did find the bedroom rather cold, in spite of having turned the radiators up.

Because it was so cold we didn't really make the most of the setting, but the grounds are absolutely beautiful and would definitely warrant a good look around on a warmer day.

All in it was very good and an enjoyable experience, but having stayed at the sister hotel, the Manor House at Castle Combe, this wasn't quite in the same league, just not as luxurious.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puffpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Booked for a romantic valentine's meal for two (well over £200) and it was poor. After we arrived we went to the bar for a Champagne cocktail which took 10 minutes to arrive. I was asked at least 4 times if I'd booked (I had) before we sat down for the tasting menu. We ordered a bottle of wine at the table while waiting for our first course. The waiter brought the wine and left the bottle on the table without asking if we'd like to taste it. So we poured our own wine..We then waited at least 15 minutes before any food arrived, noticing that some couples who arrived later were getting served. The food itself was generally disappointing - pate and with cold brioche toast, cheese course and then a 5 minute wait for biscuits, sorbet straight from the deep freeze.. After the meal we waited in the lobby while the staff rummaged through a draw trying to find our car keys..I then had to persuade the staff that 'yes' the car keys with a tag saying 'dinner' were the ones I left with the valet parking.

Surely the point of a tasting menu is to show off what you can do...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrandmrssmith186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Found this place through Room for Romance and have to say it ticked all the boxes for a romantic night away! Fab afternoon tea (try and save some room for dinner though), huge four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath. You can pick up a bike to explore the grounds, though we preferred lazing by the fire! Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunny231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cadiz
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Lainston House is without doubt a beautiful property set in very pretty grounds. We stayed in Delft; a very large room furnished in a traditional manner which in my opinion was a bit fuddy duddy and could do with being refurbished with a bit more style as has been carried out in the communal rooms downstairs.
During our one night stay we encountered a problem with the TV - which led to a member of staff trying to fix it who although trying his best did not appear to know what he was doing. We had four visits over a two hour period which we found intrusive and actually it turned out the problem affected the whole hotel. On a separate note the hotel has central heating which they kept going all night which for us made it difficult to sleep - we opened a window at 3 a.m.
We've stayed in similar establishments before and in comparison the staff here were somewhat lacking. Their interpersonal skills could definitely do with improving and they were not fully professional.
On the plus side the food, and especially the breakfast was excellent.
In conclusion..... for the rates they charge you could do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masterben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lainstonhouse, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that your stay was not as perfect as we would have liked. The Delft Suite is one of our most popular rooms partially due to the wonderful views down the Avenue of Lime trees and for many the traditional style of the decor. We do have a number of more contemporary designed rooms that I am sure would be more to your personal taste and I would be delighted to show them to you on a future visit. We are also having five of our rooms refurbished this year and again these will be of a more modern style.
I do apologise for the problems you experienced with your television, unfortunately, no one else had reported the problem so we believed it was isolated to your room which was causing some confusion but I believe we managed to resolve the matter in the end although I do apologise for the inconvenience this caused you.
I am of course delighted that you found the food to your liking and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Lainston House in the near future.

Yours sincerely

David Connell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
2.7 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lainston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lainston House Hotel

Property: Lainston House Hotel
Address: Woodman Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester S021 2LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lainston House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive through the gates of Lainston House, up the winding drive, you will enter a world where historic charm and contemporary elegance blend seamlessly. This charming 17th-century country house is a luxurious five star hotel, encapsulated in 63 acres of Hampshire parkland. A peaceful drawing room, sumptuous individually designed bedrooms and food created with passion (awarded 3 AA rosettes). The Cedar Bar is the place to relax for a cocktail and the outdoor terrace is even more so for sipping a glass of Champagne or a chilled glass of wine over a light lunch in Summer months. Don't forget to book for Afternoon Tea, a day in the on-site Cookery School or a spot of Falconry, located at the back of our stunning kitchen garden. This is a classic Country House where you can put the world behind you whether it be for a creative meeting, a relaxing leisure stay or a family celebration. Minutes away from the historic city of Winchester and only a short drive from Salisbury, Stonehenge and the New Forest. Visit Jane Austin country, Highclere Castle (home of Downton Abbey), Bombay Sapphire Distillery or a local Vineyard such as Hattingley Valley. The famous River Test is close by for perfect fishing and quaint villages to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lainston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lainston Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing