We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Winchester
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Winchester Cathedral
from $323.02
More Info
from $1,015.20
More Info
from $17.14
More Info
Reviews (4,116)
Filter reviews
4,116 results
Traveler rating
2,791
985
196
69
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,791
985
196
69
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour jane austin christmas market tower tour anthony gormley ice rink longest nave william walker free tour magnificent building buried here entrance fee well worth a visit awe inspiring stained glass steeped in history visited winchester
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 4,116 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cathedral was full of interesting exhibitions and most of it was very accessible. A real interesting look at English history.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank 831lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once you have negotiated the team of agressive people demanding an entrance fee, and others almost insisting that you join them on a tour, the cathedral is a place to stop, sit, look, and pray. The St. Nicholas font (Father Christmas) that is close to the memorial to Jane Austin is worthy of inspection. The miserichords are exceptional and worth close examination, you will need a guide, and ask to see the "wagging tongue" beneath the vergers seat.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So excited to visit Winchester because I am a great Jane Austen fan. At last! Got to see her final resting place. Beautiful cathedral with so much history xx in total awe

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank L1701QCanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On a beautiful autumn day in Winchester we visited the cathedral. Our guide for the visit was Sandra who provided a unique and fascinating perspective. She had the entire group totally enthralled with her stories of history, wars, the reformation, Kings and their wives and mistresses, cathedral damage and recovery, and loads more. She certainly knows her history! Sandra explained that each tour guide gave a different perspective so encouraged us to return again, which I hope we can do one day! Highly recommend a visit! Thanks Sandra.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Paulinei50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a very nice time at the Cathedral we went on the guided tour and Rod was our escort he did an excellent job very informative and interesting to listen to

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews