We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

A fab B&B with a great host. Great location close to cathedral grounds and high street, a clean and snug little out house and a good breakfast. Christine is a lovely host and a pleasure to meet! Thank you

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    28
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
92
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Co. Down
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very comfortable and quiet even though in a central location. Christine is a wonderful hostess and made sure we were comfortable from the start, she made us a lovely breakfast and provided us with a very reasonably priced and delicious packed lunch. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzanneb396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Should I have the opportunity to visit Winchester, England again, I'll be sure to book ahead and request the Garden Room Suite. Would love to spend more time exploring Winchester, but even more so, just to lose myself in a good book while relaxing in this quiet get-away of a lovely B&B. Thanks to our wonderful hosts for their hospitality and a fantastic breakfast.Just an unexpected treat - a home away from home! And the location couldn't have been more perfect. The whole experience was surreal!

Room Tip: Call ahead to book the Garden Room for a bit more space and privacy.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaLynnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This bed and breakfast was a dream come true! I came to England to visit many sights in London, but also was so fortunate to have been able to take a side trip to Chawton and then Winchester with some of my family. Our hosts were amazing! They accommodated our group and delighted us with wonderful information about Winchester giving helpful advice for transportation and eating locations. It was beautiful, perfectly clean, and so comfortable. Three of us stayed in the cottage through the quaint, lovely garden. It had modern conveniences such as WiFi, refrigerator, TV, etc, but was built and decorated with such style and excellent taste! It was the highlight of my whole trip to England and I am anxious to return! I wish I could have spent more time in Winchester! The full English breakfast was superb! Everything was homemade and so delicious. Christine was so fun to talk to and her family was very helpful and so kind! This B & B is perfect for any person or group! Loved it and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thayne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our trip started in London. Have been there before so no surprises. We wanted to plan a side trip to Chawton for the Jane Austen elements so started looking for overnight arrangements a few months ago. Came across the Cathedral Cottage B&B in Winchester, on Tripadvisor, which worked out perfectly because we thought spending a day in Winchester would be a neat way to see "real England". I emailed Christine, the owner, and I was surprised at how quickly she responded. She told me about the "Cottage" and it sounded absolutely perfect for what we needed. We couldn't wait to get there. When the others traveling with us were told of this side trip they were so excited about it that they wanted to come with us. I emailed Christine and she totally accomodated them with a room in her home. The Cottage was so charming, we loved it. And the room upstairs was really cute. Christine gave us a choice of a full English breakfast or continental. We chose the full English breakfast and was it ever good. Homemade bread, sausage, baked beans, eggs, mushrooms, the works. All in her sunny dinning room. The whole family was so nice, so informative, helped us in so many ways. Like I said, we have all been to London several times and we have all decided that the next time we come back to England, and we will, it will be to Winchester and Cathedral Cottage. We have made a friend here. And Winchester is as charming a town as you would ever want to see. This was definately the best part of the trip. If I had known it would be this good I would have planned several more days here than in London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here last Friday night and had a great stay. Lovely novel detached room at the bottom of an old English garden. Safe, secure and comfortable. Warm and friendly host made breakfast from scratch with tasty bread made with flour from the old City Mill around the corner - yum.
BB

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved, loved, loved this little cottage B&B, even though it was occupied by my sister, her daughter and grandaughter. My friends and I were made welcome in the little bedroom upstairs. I really felt almost like one of the family as Christine and family were very warm and welcoming. We enjoyed the full English breakfast in the beautiful sunroom/breakfast room. It was just so fun sharing stories with Christine and getting tips on what to see and the best way to get around Winchester, which is a wonderful area. I would highly recommend the Cathedral Cottage Bed & Breakfast. Location is everything and this is a great location!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Colebrook Street, Winchester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast is located in the centre of historic Winchester. Within easy reach of great restaurants, pubs, local attractions, university, train station, bus station, shops and river walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cathedral Cottage Hotel Winchester
Cathedral Cottage b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing