We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room in an English Garden”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 47 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Cathedral Cottage is less of a tradtional B&B but more of a holiday cottage with an almost "Boutique" feel the design and finish of the Garden room is excellent it may be a small space but it dose not feel anything but very airy and light everything about the cottage is very well thought out and you will not be wanting for anything
It is a trully unique in that you have total privacy and independence but also all the posative benifits of a more traditional B&B ,Christine was a wonderfull host and northing was to much trouble for in fact she went out of her way to offer help and advice on ponits of interest and favourite Pubs, Resturents etc.
By far and away the best B&B I have ever experinced just brillant ,had a Wonderfull time and you will as well

Room Tip: the Garden Room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahab1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 198 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Cathedral Cottage is superbly located - handy for the Bus Station, the High Street and of course the Cathedral. The cottage itself is not identified in any way - no "Vacancies" sign, for instance. It's a terraced house in a quiet street.
The room in the garden sounds wonderful; unfortunately it was not available on the night I wanted. I was offered a room with a double bed.
The room I had was Lynette's room - the daughter of the family, currently at university - and little had been done to disguise that fact, It was a small room, with the double bed taking up most of the room. There were tea-making facilities, and wired internet access. But no wardrobe, just a row of hooks with two plastic hangers, and no lock on the door. The lavatory was next door, shared with the family, as was the bathroom beyond - times of ablutions by negotiation, as in the best boarding houses - with splendid views of the castle ruins.
I slept well, and the breakfast was excellent - full English, and homemade bread made with flour from the ancient mill just round the corner.
So, a bed for the night, rather as you might expect as a favour from friends or family. But at £55, seemed a little pricey - the same price, in fact, as quoted on the website for single occupancy of the garden room with its ensuite. And dearer than my hotel in central Reading [single occupancy double ensuite with breakfast] and my superb B&B in the Wiltshire country side [ditto].

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricAshley47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

was only exceeded by the caring personality and talent of her owner, Christine. I didn't feel at home, I felt like a princess in a fairy tale. Every detail so well thought out, even the little soaps with the cottage picture on the wrap. Christine is an amazing chef and we had the best "Full English Breakfast" with her home made bread and jams. Really made the Winchester stay one of our most memorable stops in this great trip. Highly recommend this out of the box experience. Christine, we miss you! Greg and Veronica C.

Room Tip: There's only one lovely little cottage so the choice is made for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you want the perks of bed and breakfast but at the same time a level of privacy and independence then this is the perfect place to stay.

Christine provides an excellent breakfast and the accomodation is 'your own private den at the bottom of the garden'. We loved the three days we spent there. A host who takes great pride in her efforts to provide the best and therefore from Anne and Ian was awarded the full five stars!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jobberwock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived on Friday night and Christine met us at the door with some helpful advice on where to Park the car. The great thing about staying here was the perfect location under the shadow of the beautiful cathedral. Once parked we put £6.00 in the machine and could forget about the car until Monday morning! Winchester is a lovely compact city and easy to explore on foot. Christine helpfully suggested a few places to eat and some things to see and do.The room was delightful, spotlessly clean and really cosy. It is detached at the bottom of the pretty garden and it has everything that you need for a very comfortable stay. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Cathedral Cottage for a night in July and loved everything about it - it was perfect in meeting our needs and we wish we could have stayed for longer. Christine and her family were welcoming and hospitable, the cottage in the corner of the garden was charming, clean and cosy (and freshly painted inside), the breakfast was sensational, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the location of the B&B was brilliant for checking out everything Winchester has to offer, including Evensong at the Cathedral, dinner at Bishop on the Bridge (thanks Christine for the recommendation!), and just wandering the streets taking in the beautiful architecture and village surrounds. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlsinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were made very welcome by Christine. Breakfasts were prompt and tasty (lovely home-made bread) and the room well designed if a little snug. Lots of excellent advice on places to eat and walk, and interesting sights to see. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerryandlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
3 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,906 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hannah's
Hannah's
#1 of 47 in Winchester
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Colebrook Street, Winchester, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Cottage Bed and Breakfast is located in the centre of historic Winchester. Within easy reach of great restaurants, pubs, local attractions, university, train station, bus station, shops and river walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cathedral Cottage b&b
Cathedral Cottage Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing