We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pristine home”

29 Christchurch Road
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
29 Christchurch Road
Ranked #21 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
“Lovely pristine home”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was really a lovely stay. It's in a quiet but fairly central part of town (the walk into the centre is very pleasant), and we were given a friendly welcome. The rooms are extremely well kept- the house is old and full of antiques yet seems brand new! Breakfast is cooked to order in served in a lovely peaceful dining room surrounded by a garden. The bathroom we had was so warm (it was cold outside!) and had little Molton Brown products supplied... altogether this B&B is worth the money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PALyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
28
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

29 Christchurch road is a warm and friendly Bnb. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated; The private bathrooms are a godsend(!!); Breakfast was delicious with a large variety and the owner was friendly, informative and kind. Situated literally 10 mins from Winchester town centre - this is the ideal place if you are over for work or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Charming owner full of good advice on how to get the best from Winchester. Great accommodation. Superb location just a short walk from all the historic parts, the restaurants, the beautiful water meadows and the cathedral. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mharlow007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsomer Norton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've stayed here this month (feb). The rooms are lovely and the basics are provided for, I stayed in the room which had a private bathroom not ensuite. The bathroom was clean and tidy.

The hostess can come accross a bit abrupt at times so I just stayed clear. She's not very flexible I.e I booked two nights to come back and one of the nights I booked on the wrong day. I left a voice mail to confirm which nights I had booked and to confirm which nights I actually wanted.

I rang back the next day to be told that she sent me an email cancelling my booking because she couldn't swap the wrong night and that she couldn't give me the one night on its own as she was going out the night.

Thanks.. Left me in a pickle as the booking was for that week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviaFD, Owner at 29 Christchurch Road, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
I'm very sorry that you did find me flexible to your needs. I do everything in my power to be available to my guests, but I could not accomodate your new arrangements. I did my very best to contact you, but I could not leave message on your voicemail, so I emailed you to let you know as soon as possible.
Kind regards
Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My GF and I went to stay for a night just to get away from the city. The room was very clean, bathroom lovely and bed comfortable. It was a cold weekend but the room was warm. Breakfast was also great and Olivia was very helpful with suggesting things to do and restaurants to eat at. Good location can reach all the towns pubs and restaurants on foot. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamien123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights with two colleagues while on business and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I found Olivia to be a knowledgable, interesting and friendly host, who was more than happy to offer advice on where to go and what to do.

Her delightful home, a Regency-style house equipped and maintained to a modern standard, is tastefully decorated, with some lovely artwork, and is ideally located within a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre (and cathedral).

My room was warm (despite the freezing weather), comfortable, well-equipped and contained an eclectic range of books. The en suite bathroom was spotlessly clean, spacious and included a generous selection of Molton Brown toiletries.

The pièce de résistance, however, was the breakfast; Olivia's (incredible) homemade jam and marmalade with granary toast accompanied a wide range of breakfast options from porridge and fruit salad with yoghurt to locally sourced bacon, sausage and eggs. Everything was cooked fresh to order and served with a smile and good conversation.

I would return without hesitation. Thank you, Olivia.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Olivia is a gracious hostess and has wonderful suggestions for dining and things to do...not that there is ever a lack of things to do around Winchester. The guest house is beautifully appointed and when Olivia found there was an interest in antique furniture, we really got a tour and an education! Breakfasts were to order and I think we disappointed her with our moderate appetites - everything was delicious. The rooms are equipped with tea service, hair dryer, and loads of lovely hot water for showers. To say everything was charming and delightful doesn't even begin to cover our stay! And yes, you can walk into town...and your car can be parked right outside - Olivia supplies the parking permit too.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
FLowerdews Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Saskia's B&B
Saskia's B&B
#19 of 53 in Winchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westgate
The Westgate
#9 of 53 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
31 Queens Road - Winchester
31 Queens Road - Winchester
#24 of 53 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Christchurch Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Christchurch Road

Property: 29 Christchurch Road
Address: 29 Christchurch Road, Winchester SO23 9SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Hotel Class:3 star — 29 Christchurch Road 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing