We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Clean Hotel”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Lovely clean hotel, Very easy access to main roads for tourist attractions.
Room was clean & comfortable. Food very nice and a large variety to choose from for breakfast for adults and children.

Room was located on the lower ground floor, very quiet and hardly heard any other guests coming and going.

would stay here again when visiting family.

Room Tip: We have a toddler and the roll out bed as they call it is more than suitable for a child probably up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaz79_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks Kaz79_13 for your lovely comments after your recent stay.

I am delighted that you all had a lovely time enjoying the facilities including our food.

We hope to see you back soon,

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    365
    108
    28
    13
See reviews for
263
321
44
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently and was quite impressed. It's big, it's spacious and has very welcoming staff. Nice buffet breakfast too! Well done Holiday Inn! Our room was lovely and quiet which was a bonus, and the large bed was incredibly comfortable. But why oh why do these large corporate hotels not have opening windows in the bedrooms? A lack of fresh air is not good - and the black mould around the window frame in our room was testament to this! Otherwise it would be 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Can't help with room choice, but you get extra freebies with the executive rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuwW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear HuwW,

Thank you for your comments, which we really do appreciate. I am sorry about the windows but this was part of the planning I’m afraid and we couldn’t do anything about it.
Glad you enjoyed breakfast and the team were welcoming.

Thanks again

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sompting West Sussex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here again, never disappointed, we both love it here, great base for Winchester town. You can get some real bargains to stay here, we paid £109 for one night DBB for 2 ads and 1 child. Food is very good, not to mention the fantastic service.

Room Tip: Just book on holiday inn website, they are no cheaper on other websites, and you could also lose ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalieh148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you Natalieh 148 for your fabulous comments!

I am delighted that we are still as good each time you visit!

Hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here as we were attending a party at this hotel. All staff provided an excellent service with a smile. Our room was spotless. Food at party and breakfast was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgetJones2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much BridgetJones2011,

It’s great to receive all feedback, especially when it is so fabulous!

Hope to see you again soon,

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel a couple of months ago for one evening. The hotel is modern and spacious and the room reasonably large and comfortable. The hotel is located a couple of miles outside of Winchester in a quiet location close to the motorway. Reception staff were very helful and we were booked in to our room early and in quick time. We ate at the restaurant in the evening which is part of an open plan area that includes the bar. This did cause one issue with a family who had taken over the whole of the bar area with toys strewn everywhere and making more noise than you can imagine a couple and two children could create. I was a little concerned that no staff sought to deal with the mess and noise or the affect that this was having on other patrons of the bar and restaurant.
Whilst you do need a car to stay at this hotel and to get around it is very pleasant and useful for anyone who is considering travelling to this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John-Susan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear John-Susan 17,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay. It was great to see that you had such a lovely time. I will be speaking to the F and B team to ensure we get the right balance for all our guests.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for one night excellent hotel quick check in. Very modern and nice well presented rooms. Nice big car park. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Staff very polite and friendly. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scranman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much Scranman14

It is lovely to see great comments about the hotel and especially our team. Many thanks!!

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night during our visit to Winchester last year. The hotel was very clean and we were impressed with the updated modern look throughout the hotel. The staff was very friendly and gave us directions to a restaurant that we wanted to visit in Winchester. The hotel is not within the city center, but instead right outside the city. In my opinion, it is a convenient and quiet location. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable night's stay near Winchester.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovelyReverie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Wow lovelyReverie,

Thank you for a fabulous review! We really do appreciate all our feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that the rest of your vacation was as enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester
Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing