We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant hotel”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for a night at the end of March (as a family, 3 rooms). Modern, very pleasant, nicely furnished, all one could want for a comfortable night. I especially liked the nightlights in the bathrooms, a great idea that other hotels would do well to copy. Restaurant also good. A couple of miles from Winchester city centre, however; no problem if you have a car, but not interesting / pleasant to walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BristolEngland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear BristolEngland01,

Many thanks for your lovely comments after your recent stay.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    365
    108
    28
    13
See reviews for
263
321
44
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have just arrived home from a 4 night stay at the Holiday Inn on the outskirts of Winchester, the travel company we went with was "Regent Travel" from Stone with coach supplied by local firm "Happy Days" both excellent as usual, the Holiday Inn itself was the usual Holiday Inn standard, although we had a set menu of three choices from each course there was something there for everyone and I didn't hear any complaints I feel the food was really good and the staff were very efficient and pleasant it can get a bit noisy in the evening due to the amount of business people that use it but not really a problem, it's quite close to Winchester itself the only two complaints I would make are the usual Holiday Inn bar prices (£4.20) for a pint of bitter and secondly whoever designed the bathrooms I feel was a bit of a comedian the sinks in the bathroom are the raised white porcelain with the tops of which being the height of Simon Cowell's waistband making it very difficult to have a wash without making a mess all over the floor also the height of the sink means that the mirror is about two feet away

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks kennyval on your review after your recent stay.

I know from talking to many of you that your all enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are aware of the height of our sinks and when we refurbish the hotel this will be addressed.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Holiday Inn Winchester is one of the new branded and updated IHG Group hotels, just celebrating it's third anniversary, with many of the original team still in place, including the very efficient GM Siobhan, and is ably assisted by James who looks after the reception and front of house operation. There are only a limited handfull of Executives rooms available, but there are some large nice double normal rooms on the first floor that i would recommend. The hotel is easy to find just of Junction 9/10 of the M3.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kebuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear PAButo,

wow thank you! I am very lucky to be surrounded by a very dedicated, loyal, hardworking team who work even harder than me to ensure that all our guests have a great stay, which you clearly did.

I have passed on your review to the team, especially James who is smiling broadly!

I hope next time when you visit you say hello,

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having stayed in the Holiday Inn in Walsall two nights earlier it is hard to be believe that the HI Winchester is run under the same brand, so obviously superior was it.
Ample free parking in a quiet semi-industrial park environment does not detract from this modern hotel's attributes. My only complaint is the location, which is quite far from the centre of Winchester making it difficult if you don't have a car.
Check-in was quick, efficient and friendly.
The public areas were bright, spacious, modern and well maintained.
Our room was large and well designed with good quality fittings and an enormous bed. The bathroom however was on the small side.
Unlike some other Full Service Holiday Inns the HI Winchester is sufficiently better than the many HI Express and other budget-orientated offerings to make the stay worthwhile. Location aside, this is a good option when in Winchester, and a shining example of what a well maintained and well presented Holiday Inn Full Service should be like. For some others to follow, I would suggest.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathrooms, don't know if they are all the same size
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotsRoad555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much ScotsRoad555 for such a fabulous review!

It is always good to see we are meeting and surpassing our customers’ expectations, thank you.

I have passed on your lovely comments to all the team.

Many thanks again

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Among UK hotels very near old cities, this is a good find. The rooms have everything needed (I didn't need a minibar/fridge or a microwave), everything works, and the rooms and public areas are clean and well maintained. All of the service is prompt, cheery, and competent. During the week, the place is full of business travelers; on weekends, it's a popular venue for weddings. The staff seem to cater equally well to both crowds. -- The restaurant is quite nice, with an imaginative menu, and large enough to accommodate a full house. -- The in-room internet/Wifi service is only a little spotty, but free for the first half hour each day, and can be worked with. -- The one thing I'd rate a tiny bit lower is the buffet-style breakfast, which is exactly the same every morning. On the steam table are soft scrambled eggs, grilled half tomatoes, grilled mushrooms, golden-baked frozen shredded-potato cakes, beans, bacon, and sausages. In the cooler are chopped fruit, citrus fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, and cold cuts. On the other tables are white and wheat bread for toasting, a bowl of miniature puff pastries, cereals, milk, and juice. That's a good selection, and the food is done well enough (and low-fat, which gets them points in my book), but it looks and tastes the same every day! For people staying only a day or two, this probably doesn't matter. I stayed a week, and it rather got up my nose. -- The other thing is the price of the breakfast: GPB 14.99 per day if you hadn't booked your room inclusive of breakfast. IMO this buffet is NOT worth $22.85! -- Overall, though, I'd stay here again, if I wanted a place whose basics and service I could count on, and which I could find easily from the motorways. -- P.S. Don't be surprised if at some point in the afternoon your room cardkey doesn't work. That happened to most of the people I talked to. Just go to the desk, where they will ask you if the card has been near a phone (it doesn't really matter), and then they will quickly reinstate the code.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main floor ("2") are quiet even when weddings and parties are in progress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Shauna0829,

Thank you for such lovely comments after your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you had such a lovely time.

I understand totally your comments regarding breakfast, and this is something we are revisiting at the moment, however we always have to have the same core items to meet guest expectations. The breakfast menu does have several different options on there from fish to omelettes and pancakes which can be ordered and freshly prepared for you. any guest who do stay with us for longer periods than usual we are always happy to try and meet their needs if possible.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments, which we always appreciate.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Returned to Winchester with family for a weekend and decided to stay here due to the promising reviews. My son had stayed here previously when the hotel had been open a couple of months and the review had also been good.

Don't be put off by the prison-like exterior, the hotel is very warm and welcome inside! Very pleased to get a PC upgrade to executive rooms even on a busy Friday night. Beds very comfy and rooms were nice and quiet. Everything still looked new and my son commented that everything looked the same as had been with his previous visit. Had the most wonderful meal in the rebranded 'Brasserie'; the menu was extensive, adventurous and very good value. Quality of the food, especially the meats and the very good wine menu meant I was a little disappointed that we weren't dining there on the Saturday. The addition of a well equipped gym was a welcome addition for my son and his girlfriend, but for my wife and I we were a bit disappointed there was no pool/spa in a stylish hotel like this.

Just a couple of gripes, quite small really. The staff are friendly and efficient, but when you arrive late to the bar or the breakfast they don't seem to be that interested. We came back just after midnight on the Saturday and were surprised that no one was there to serve us apart from the night duty manager, for whom we had to wait quite a while. We arrived half an hour before breakfast was due to close on the Sunday and many people had cleared off already, but there was no table set for us and there wasn't a great supply of food left on the buffet. Thankfully we had breakfast included, but I wouldn't have paid the extra £15 or so (sorry don't know the exact price) if we hadn't. Other gripes not exclusive to this HI is the extortionate price for wi-fi, which in many other hotels is now free. In addition the mobile signal is poor, barely getting any in some places so some boosters could be added. Had an issue with temperature of the room - heavy wind from outside was coming through the window frame and made it very cold, but we were moved room and I understand the issue was raised with the GM and the window fixed.

All in all a good, well kept hotel in a quiet location outside the hustle and bustle of city. Would visit the restaurant again even if I wasn't staying at the hotel, it was THAT good.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room. More light and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namth90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear namth90,

Thank you for all your lovely comments regarding you and your families recent stay.

It’s always such a pleasure to read returning guests comments especially when they are still so positive, and also recognising the additions we have made since we opened which include our fabulous, residents only gym!

Firstly let me apologise for having to wait in the bar. I have spoken to my F and B regarding this and your comments over breakfast. also thank you for pointing out the issue with the window which was resolved.

It’s always heart-warming to read reviews of guests who so appreciate excellent food quality. We all work so hard, especially chef and his team to create interesting dishes using local produce. It’s great to see when it is appreciated.

I hope to say hello next time you are with us,

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A very clean and modern feel throughout. We had a family room with two double beds but it still felt spacious, however if I was being picky it could have benefitted from a little more hanging space. The public areas in the hotel, restaurant , foyer, bar etc were very light, spacious and airy, all new fittings and fixtures etc. the buffet breakfast was good and staff all pleasant and helpful. It is a quick drive into Winchester, which is fine but you couldn't walk anywhere from the hotel itself. A good base for sightseeing in the area. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you Rebecca J!!

It’s always great to get recommendations from our guests, we really do appreciate it.

Many Thanks

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.3 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester
Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing