We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
East Anglia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights while visiting family in Winchester. The receptionist upgraded our room when we arrived, so it was more spacious than the standard one. A good range of drinks and bar snacks are available from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., in addition to meals in the restaurant. The bar and breakfast staff were happy to provide decaff tea on request. The room was clean and comfortable. My only tiny niggle was that there was only a very small wardrobe and a few narrow drawers, so we couldn't unpack and hang up everything. The bathroom was also very clean and well equipped, and I was glad to see that little bars of soap were provided. (I hate it when you only get those dispensers high up on the wall, since I like having baths.) All in all, it was an excellent stay and I'm sure we'll go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you Catherine060, what a lovely review!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and have passed on your comments to the team.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    351
    104
    27
    11
See reviews for
254
309
43
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent a night here as part of a group visit. Our room was absolutely fine, and we slept well. We ate in the restaurant, not least as the hotel is miles from any alternative, and although the food was ok, the service left something to be desired. One companion asked to have an additional vegetable with his main course, and when it arrived the vegetable had substituted the original rather than supplemented it - and the kitchen were unable to supply the originally advertised roasted root vegetables. That made us think that the kitchen is probably just heating up ready meals rather than really cooking. To be fair, they did knock some money off the cost of the meal, but it wasn't really the standard I would expect for this price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Gordon W,

Thank you for your review which generally very good was very disappointing with regard to your dining experience . I know that we were particularly busy that evening however it is no excuse for the team getting your vegetable choice wrong. Morn Hill Brasserie holds a rosette which is based on locally sourced fresh produce which I can assure you is cooked fresh to order for each guest.

I have investigated this matter with the Food and Beverage team who again asked me to send their apologises.

Thank you for the feedback which we always appreciate.

Kind regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Booked in here for the last weekend in November. I had my elderly father with me and needed a hotel that had a disabled bathroom and lifts.

We had an excellent stay. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. My fathers bathroom had a 'wet room' shower which was perfect.

We were very impressed with the restaurant both for breakfast and evening meal. The food was excellent - way beyond our expectations for this quality of hotel.

Staff were both friendly and well trained which is highly unusual in this day of generally sloppy standards.

Overall I would not hestitate to recomment this hotel and would return myself if I needed to stay in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Jerry L,

I was totally blown away by your outstanding review!! Thank you!!

We have always tried from day one to be the best at what we do including food, staff training and customer care, so it’s always a pleasure to read when we have got this right.

I know we are very fortunate to have some of the best accessible rooms in the area which your father enjoyed.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you if you are in the area.

Kind regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights.
It was very central for our needs. We enjoyed our stay.
The breakfast was plentiful with a choice of hot and cold food.
The lobby area and bar was comfortable with a good atmosphere.
Our room was large enough but lacked enough hanging space for clothes.
En suite was very clean and good pressure from shower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Wonderfulrooms, thank you for such a great review! We really do appreciate all our feedback, and as noted from your comments as and when we will complete a refurbishment we will be addressing wardrobe space.

Many thanks again for a great review

Siobhan Thomasson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice over the past couple of months, and both experiences have been just perfect.

We booked 2 rooms - both with 2 double beds - but definatly bigger than your average double bed - and soo comfortable too! bathrooms are very very very clean - no mouldy horrid bits around the bath like most hotels!! these are pristine.

the hotel overall is immaculate - its is kept to the highest standards possible.

We ate in the hotels restaurant on both visits - very very very impressive - if we lived locally, we would visit the hotel restaurant - pity were so far away :-(

All the staff at the hotel are pleaseant and friendly - which makes you feel very comfortable - nothing is too much trouble for the staff here

we have used the hotel cruise package on both occasions - full english breakfast, taxi to and from the port, free parking - totally worry free travelling for us after a 300 mile journey - and much easier than travelling down on the morning of a cruise and finding parking etc... total worry free - perfect

we have booked another cruise from Southampton next year, and will be making arrangements to do the same cruise package from here again.

do not have any doubts about booking this hotel - its is wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Amazing review 13_jane,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very proud of our hotel and our offerings so I am very pleased that we have made your stays so memorable. I have passed on your comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you ready for your next cruise, which we are always very envious of!!

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here on our way to a wedding and were extremely pleased with the hotel once our taxi found it. The hotel is new and the reception area is very spacious, staff very efficient and we were booked in within minutes. Our room was a good size and was very comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant and had a choice from a large menu. The food and service were good. The lounge is comfortable and we enjoyed a drink their after dinner. Breakfast was good and the staff organised a vegetarian option very quickly.
We would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to visit the area and enjoy a quiet spot away from the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear cnjs,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I have passed on your comments to the team and thanked them for their continued hard work which makes the Holiday Inn Winchester!

I hope you had a great time at the wedding you attended in another venue and look forward to welcoming you back if you are in the area again.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice looking hotel, well located for Winchester, free parking etc. Really Friendly reception and restaurant staff. The rooms are clean and modern as you'd expect from a new hotel. Its quite pricey although im not sure how it compares to other hotels in the area. there's the usual ripoff charge for slow, patchy wifi access, but that's standard with UK hotels.

However, my room's only window looked out over the massive reception area which meant no natural light, making the room feel dark and claustrophobic, and it didn't feel particularly private with the reception area balcony being level with the room window. This meant there there was no ventilation either and it was hot, so I had to use the noisy aircon, which kept making noise even when it was switched off. I had a terrible nights sleep as a result. There appears to be 5 rooms with these inward looking windows, avoid them, they're not good. The same room with a nice outwards looking window would have been much better.
Food was just okay, I expected better from the reviews and the rosettes... and the prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 52cards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear 52 cards,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay, which I was disappointed to read. We do have 4 rooms which are internal overlooking the reception, the 5th has 2 windows one which looks out on external views, and I do appreciate that they are not everyone’s cup of tea, but we will always try to allocate rooms to guest preferences so please let us know.

We are the only hotel in the area which gives 30 mins free WI FI and then goes up in a sliding scale to make us one of the most competitively priced hotels in the area. Do let me know if you are in the area again and I will ensure an outwardly facing bedroom.

Thank you again

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester
Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing