We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best Pizza in town”
Review of Zizzi - Winchester

Zizzi - Winchester
Ranked #27 of 207 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Situated on the high street, Zizzi occupies the old Jacob & Johnson building, which dates back to the 17th Century and from 1788 until 2004 was the home of the Hampshire Chronicle. As with all our restaurants, we strive to preserve and enhance the original features and to reflect the unique heritage of its surroundings through its design and décor.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“the best Pizza in town”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

You are guaranteed the best pizza or pasta in town, all freshly cooked. Service excellent and they will take late evening bookings and can cater for large parties.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    196
    88
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wine could be better”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

very nice food if you just want pizza or pasta its all cook fresh but for what ie a bowl of pasta just a little bit on the expensive side ..very little choice of wine

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stuart95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good value for money”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

i recently took 3 kids to this place during half term, as you can imagine it was really busy but they made every effort to seat our group as quickly as possible. The food was good, the staff were great. overall, an enjoyable lunch!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kittyvintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansko, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A popular dining venue - advise booking in advance”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Thursday lunchtime and the place was full, we had a reservation but the lady behind me wasn't so lucky and was told to return in 2 hours.
Lead past the tables at the front and the bar and seated by the open kitchen area, it was alot quieter than the front also.
Our waiter Joe, was quick to introduce himself and take our drinks order. We ordered mains of fish stew, rustic pizza and skinny pizza which came with a small side salad. The rustic pizza was 4 times the size of the skinny yet only £2 more, the tomato and 'mozzarella' skinny had 3 small pieces of cheese, not a true pizza!! There were alot of meals left (getting cold) on the serving counter for quite a time, yes service was slow but the staff were very busy. One area was completely empty, obviously due to insufficient staff. A more refined fast food restaurant in my opinion, it's worth checking out their discount vouchers available on line.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fee2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visited twice and no regrets!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We've visited this place twice recently on the advice of some friends, we certainly weren't disappointed. We're a particular fan of the pizzas with the creamy sauces! The inside of the restaurant looks very hip and we've always found the atmosphere to be good.

The fondue and caramelised onion garlic bread are both delicious starters, we enjoyed the food so much the first time that we came back for valentine's day, even thought it's a little bit out of our way. We also found the waiting staff to be charismatic, a little busy on our second visit but that's more than understandable. Would be happy to eat here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarzzyFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Winchester also viewed

 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Zizzi - Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing