We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another great dinner”
Review of Zizzi - Winchester

Zizzi - Winchester
Ranked #27 of 202 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Situated on the high street, Zizzi occupies the old Jacob & Johnson building, which dates back to the 17th Century and from 1788 until 2004 was the home of the Hampshire Chronicle. As with all our restaurants, we strive to preserve and enhance the original features and to reflect the unique heritage of its surroundings through its design and décor.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“another great dinner”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I ve been here before and always had good time either alone or friends.
It's a very good place to eat with smiley staff.
went in for a bit to eat , good service and good food everyone very friendly

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surprisetodelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    186
    86
    37
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Food ok but poor service”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visited to celebrate my birthday, food was ok really it all arrived together we had to send one of the pizza back as it was undercooked, it came back fine. The service is not good at all it was a busy Friday evening but there seemed to be a lot of staff? No one asked if the food was ok? Or if we wanted black pepper or top up drinks very much left to your own devices really. As we spent more than £150 on the evening we will not be returning, you get better service at McDonalds.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonathan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could have been a great night out”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visited on Saturday 2nd feb with a group of friends when booking the table we asked if there were any other parties at that time and should we make it earlier for ease if service. No problem to arrive at 7pm and we did on time with another 4 tables if at least 10-12 people, why do reservations staff cram full dining rooms and leave the waiting staff to deal with the fall out, we waited to order drinks and then ordered food which arrived in reasonable time. However at no point did anyone check if the food was ok or if we wanted another drink, dessert menus were given and coffee ordered, two cappuccinos took approx 20 minutes and then the request for the bill another 10. We left at 10pm thirsty and a little unloved, All problems could have been resolved if the dining room was not crammed full of tables being ignored and staff like headless chickens. Learn a lesson that customers like good attentive service especially when you add 10% to the bill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skybluemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great building, food mixed”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great location in centre of Winchester and very nice inside.
Always seems busy, especially at weekend so worth booking online.
Starter of calamari was excellent, perfectly cooked.
The Rustica pizzas are big and with very thin dough, but main disappointment was little topping. e.g. one pizza that was one half prawn based had 4 prawns on it.
Italian cider was nice, very different to other cider.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ukDesiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pizzas”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great food excellent for young families. Pizzas are generous sizes - maybe best to share unless you're really hungry. Good atmosphere - restaurant is much bigger than you think from front and decor is bright and modern. Service was a little slow as evening moved on and restaurant filled up. However this didnt spoil evening and would definitely eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PomsinOz1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Winchester also viewed

 
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Zizzi - Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing