We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food in central Winchester”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangkok Brasserie - CLOSED

Bangkok Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of HARDENS Top 10 Thai Restaurants in the UK The distinctive flavours of Thai cuisine with hints of fresh coriander, fish sauce and lemon grass are the result of a special national talent for blending a great variety of spices and herbs. The sauces are light, the flavours subtle and elusive - the reason why Thai food has become one of the most popular dining experiences in the world today. This taste sensation, along with the world renowned Thai hospitality, is now available in Winchester.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in central Winchester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited on a weekend for a friends birthday, as is usual some of our party were running late but the staff were understanding and we were kept going with prawn crackers and chilli dip. Service was excellent, the selection of traditional Thai cuisine was very good and the meal was all round good value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hauntedreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    126
    46
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Where shall I begin? Worst experience I've had in a long time.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were pre- booked as a table for 4 at 7p.m. When we arrived we were informed that we could only have the table until 9pm.m and were harassed 5 times in 5 minutes into choosing very quickly. Starter was nice- a sharing platter, but my duck with tamarind sauce and sticky rice was poor. Rice was solid! Within 15 seconds of finishing our main the bill arrived on our table at no request from us. It was 9p.m! My husband asked if they did deserts and the girl said yes but we need your table . Totally spoiled the evening as we felt they weren't interested in service and should have informed us at the point of booking if there were restrictions on time. I do not advise anyone to go here, especially at a weekend when they obviously over book.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Baby sitter in place so we wanted this to be good. We were not disappointed. Mid week but the restaurant was busy and I know why now. The food was really good and the ambiance just right. I highly recommend this restaurant to all.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We came here yesterday lunch, very warm welcome from staffs and the food very lovely. Definately go back again!!!

Helpful?
Thank Chonticha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thai meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

As stated in other reviews, this is a lovely retaurant, family friendly, with a wide choice of diches to suit all tastes. Highly recommended and we hope to visit again when next in Winchester

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monwysyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Brasserie also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Kings Worthy, Winchester
Twyford, Winchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing