We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Super Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northbrook Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northbrook Arms
Ranked #10 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Super Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Fantastic place, warm and inviting, incredibly helpful and friendly staff, excellent and varied menu superb location what a pretty village, thanks John and poppy for pointing us in the right direction.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tilleysrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    30
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
26
44
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just recently had a works Christmas do at the Northbrook Arms, and had to write a review as the service/food/venue was exceptional! Millie could not of been more helpful organising this for me. We were lucky to book the separate barn which is located directly behind the pub, it was very rustic and had an original skittle alley as well, it really suited our needs.
The menu provided for Christmas was extremely good value, and a wide varied choice of option which included scallops, so this kept many of my guests happy :-)
We were able to play our own music in the main barn, and the waiter/waitresses even kindly took our drinks orders.
Overall it was fantastic, and we will definately be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahlou14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Popped in here just after collecting a Christmas tree from down the road. Great atmosphere, very cosy and traditional. Wonderful range of ales and bitters. very friendly staff. We had two very different lunches. The missus went for the Fish and Chips, I went for the tasting platter x3. Great, great meals, all freshly cooked, lovely flavors.

REally enjoyed it and will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLP422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I booked this Pub after reading the reviews online and we were not disappointed. The standard of the food was first class and the service was prompt and very friendly. Although the pub/ restaurant was busy we were served quickly. I would recommend anyone to eat here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The nicest owner we have ever come across. Exceptional hospitality and attention-to-detail come as standard at the Northbrook Arms. The man in charge is extremely kind...(he took us at the crack of dawn on a Sunday....for free... to local station ).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic experience at the Northbrook Arms on our recent visit. Not only was the atmosphere warm and the food exceptionally tasty but the staff friendly and helpful and the manager went above and beyond to accommodate us. He really helped us out when we were stranded at the pub with bikes we had rented with no lights, taking it upon himself to arrange us lifts back to our accommodation and arranging the return of the bikes the following day. It really was an incredible gesture. The day had been so wonderful, we cancelled our booking at another establishment and came back the next day. Every meal was absolutely delicious and the staff always had a smile on their faces. I highly recommend you visit if you are in the area. 10 thumbs up from Beckys 30th birthday crew!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

A superb pub, restaurant and B&B. The room I had was in the old bakery and was very spacious spotlessly clean and just lovely. The Northbrook Arms itself is a great pub with a great atmosphere excellent beer and run by very friendly and attentive staff, food in the restaurant and breakfast couldn't be faulted. I spend a lot of time on business in the area and I will definitely be back. Keep up the good work......

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
7.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Winchester M3
Days Inn Winchester M3
#11 of 13 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northbrook Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northbrook Arms

Property: Northbrook Arms
Address: East Stratton, East Stratton, , SO21 3, | East Stratton, Winchester, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northbrook Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Northbrook Arms - a traditional village pub with letting rooms. The pub itself is owned by Lord Northbrook and has been part of his family estate for generations. We are situated in the idyllic village of East Stratton just minutes from the A33 between Winchester and Basingstoke. The pub boasts two gardens – the green opposite the pub which is perfect for catching the sun all day long, and the pretty country garden to the side of the pub which has an enclosed area at the bottom where children can play safely. We also have a traditional Skittle Alley in the beautiful old stables – with its own bar, space for dining and of course the Skittles – it is the perfect place to have a party or function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Northbrook Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northbrook Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing