We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt our Saturday evening”
Review of Northbrook Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Northbrook Arms
Ranked #16 of 53 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spoilt our Saturday evening”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Starting on a positive, the staff who served us were very polite.
The food was expensive for what it was, my meal of slow roasted duck was so salty I was unable to eat it, my son chose game chips which looked and tasted exactly the same as a bag of "Kettle vegetable crisps".
The tables were sticky, and needed a good clean!
This is the first negative review I have ever written but it was very disappointing and we won't be visiting again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    35
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
30
47
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

this could quite possibly qualify for worst pub in Britain, the decor is old and shabby and the food is terrible.If you have a job, family, own your own home, pay your taxes, don't consider JB Sports as a place to buy your clothes for an evening out and are looking for a nice pub to go for a drink and a meal, then avoid this place like the plague!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I loved this place the last time I visited but sadly on a recent Saturday night it was a disaster. I was in a party of six and had booked a table. Unbeknownst to us it was the night of the beer festival which in itself wasn't a problem but soon became one. The bar staff were totally overwhelmed by the sheer volume of customers and were unable to cope. The menu for a Saturday night was very dissapointing; a Ploughmans, fish and chips or a burger and chips were amongst the very limited menu. We did ask if perhaps we had been given the lunch menu but were told that they were in the process of redesigning a new menu which was due out shortly. The service was awful, the food was dreadful, we were given the wrong bottle of wine and when we pointed out that it was not what we ordered we were told that it they didn't have the Chablis and this would have to do, we were squeezed into a corner and had to practically climb over the adjoining people to get to the bar, our table wasn't cleared between courses so we had to stack the plates up at the end of the table to get any space. So disappointed with the whole experience as had loved the previous visit. Sadly will not visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

this is one of 3 pubs we consider to be our 'local' and by far the best - relaxed friendly atmosphere, the staff are great and the landlord makes a big effort. the Sunday roasts are the best we've ever had in a pub and we often come here for lunch during the week as well. big thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pook1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Northbrook Arms for one night last weekend. We found it whilst searching the internet for idyllic villages within easy reach of London, and it didn't disappoint. The village of East Stratton - with its thatched cottages, picturesque church and village green (which, the manager informed us, is actually owned by the pub) - is about as idyllic as you can get, and the pub itself is charm personified, as are the lovely and friendly couple who run the pub. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated, with views over the fields to the back of the property. We whiled away the afternoon outside in the sunshine, sampling the Ploughman's lunch (excellent), afternoon tea (ditto) and free board games (I'd rather not talk about losing Scrabble). In the evening we had dinner in the bar and were delighted not only with our delicious steak burgers but also the wine list (which had my favourite Argentinian Malbec on it). Breakfast the following morning was great and really set us up for the day, and we had a great chat with the manager before we left. All in all an utterly charming and stunningly situated pub - I almost didn't want to write this review and encourage others to go, but it's too good not to share! We will be back :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bege81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visited for a family meal. It didn't disappoint! A great choice of food and friendly and attentive service. Check out the specials too! Large portions which makes it incredibly good value. Would highly recommend the sticky toffee pudding! Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went last night with some friends for dinner. New ownership since i was last there and still good atmosphere, friendly service andd good food. Several daily specials on top of the main menu. The website is no longer the one on google maps. It is now thenorthbrookarms.com.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank effingpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
7.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
7.5 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
778 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Running Horse
The Running Horse
#11 of 53 in Winchester
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northbrook Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northbrook Arms

Property: Northbrook Arms
Address: East Stratton, East Stratton, , SO21 3, | East Stratton, Winchester, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northbrook Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Northbrook Arms - a traditional village pub with letting rooms. The pub itself is owned by Lord Northbrook and has been part of his family estate for generations. We are situated in the idyllic village of East Stratton just minutes from the A33 between Winchester and Basingstoke. The pub boasts two gardens – the green opposite the pub which is perfect for catching the sun all day long, and the pretty country garden to the side of the pub which has an enclosed area at the bottom where children can play safely. We also have a traditional Skittle Alley in the beautiful old stables – with its own bar, space for dining and of course the Skittles – it is the perfect place to have a party or function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Northbrook Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northbrook Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing