We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Saturday evening meal”
Review of Northbrook Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northbrook Arms
Ranked #17 of 52 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a family meal on a saturday night at the pub, although there were tables free in the vibrant main bar area, we got shoved in a cold dark side room on our own with no atmosphere, until a bigger group arrived just as we were finishing our meal. We had reserved a table but it appeared they were not expecting us as the side room was not ready. The food was quite disappointing the soup was not very warm although oddly the dish was hot and the thai crab cakes were overcooked on the outside and undercooked in the middle not good for shell fish. A couple of the main dishes we did not finish either, battered fish very greasy tasting, duck very dry and slightly overcooked. The cooked food quality just did not reflect the reasonably high prices charged, some of the family had eaten in the pub before and said it was great last time they ate there but after this meal they said they would not be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 138 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Northbrook Arms is now owned by the same people that run Half Moon and Spread Eagle; so the rubbish review someone gave to this pub in 2010 - ignore!

We came across this pub on Saturday and decided to stop for lunch.

Great service, very nice food - we will be going back for an evening meal!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRachaelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Northbrook Arms for one night before continuing our journey home from France. It is a lovely place to stay. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are charming and extremely comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. We also all enjoyed a wonderful meal on the night we arrived. The location is even beautiful too! We couldn't have asked for anything more. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caledonia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stopped here for two days last week, a more beautiful location would be hard to find, 6 mile from Aylesford surrounded by Thatched homes and a lovely church. The bar is first class with very friendly staff and a fine selection of real ales along with Peroni on draft. They have a great menu with locally sourced produce. The grilled lamb chops with mash potato was superb and the gravy and mash was first class. The breakfast was also good and it would appear you can have what you want you just ask and the chef makes it for you. The rooms are very plush and appear to be recently refurbished as my bathroom was new with a fine shower. The double bed was comfy and also good Wi-Fi. Coffee and tea facilities with PG tips which is always a plus. This is a great place to stop I have booked two nights next week. The only reason I haven’t given it five stars it the TV gets an intermittent signal and drove me nuts. Still no ones perfect.

Room Tip: Plenty of parking at the back, nice clientele lots of black ties for the local opera
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was in need of a B&B the other week, as I had family and friends attending a family bash.
Although I have dined a few times at The Northbrook, and indeed had a wonderful meal, I had not used the pub for accommodation before.
The bedrooms were, light, airy and very clean. The Staff was very helpful and polite. The Northbrook is open all day every day, even Sunday afternoons and all day Mondays, which was days, previously closed. Wonderful choice of breakfast and if you have time, take a walk in Micheldever woods and come back and try out the lovely choice, of food, for lunch or dinner.
All this and set in the most idyllic location, I will definitely use The Northbrook Arms again both for dining and B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliceoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I last wrote a review raving about this pub but we went back on a monday night and had the most horrible meal. The burger was dry and tasteless. We asked for it rare and it was cremated. The chips were cold too. Shame - it used to be my favourite.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axp905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Had a wonderful lunch today in this lovely pub. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Food was excellent. Warm goats cheese with a nicoise salad which may not sound like a match made in heaven but it was, brie wrapped in parma ham served with a side salad and a gourmet burger with chips (hasten to add I wasn't alone on this lunch time and eating all of this by myself!) all perfectly served and extremely tasty. Lovely walks surrounding the pub and overall very worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LesleyMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
7.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
7.5 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,024 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Winchester M3
Days Inn Winchester M3
#11 of 13 in Winchester
253 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Running Horse
The Running Horse
#7 of 52 in Winchester
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northbrook Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northbrook Arms

Address: East Stratton, East Stratton, , SO21 3, | East Stratton, Winchester, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range: $109 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northbrook Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Northbrook Arms - a traditional village pub with letting rooms. The pub itself is owned by Lord Northbrook and has been part of his family estate for generations. We are situated in the idyllic village of East Stratton just minutes from the A33 between Winchester and Basingstoke. The pub boasts two gardens – the green opposite the pub which is perfect for catching the sun all day long, and the pretty country garden to the side of the pub which has an enclosed area at the bottom where children can play safely. We also have a traditional Skittle Alley in the beautiful old stables – with its own bar, space for dining and of course the Skittles – it is the perfect place to have a party or function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Northbrook Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northbrook Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing