We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Country Pub”
Review of Northbrook Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Northbrook Arms
Ranked #16 of 52 Winchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy Country Pub”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed for one night, with my son during half term. The room was spacious although the furniture was very old fashioned. The room was clean and the shower room was modern with nice fittings. Tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries are provided so good value for £65 per night for the 2 of us. We had dinner in the pub which was delicious (I can recommend the chicken & mushroom pie), all nicely presented 2 mains, 2 desserts a soft drink and glass of wine for £40 so reasonably priced. Cooked breakfast was nice, choice of cereals as well as fruit and bread with a toaster for you to toast your own bread. Individual jars of jam and marmalade but no butter or other spreads which was disappointing, but not a big deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    35
    14
    11
    4
See reviews for
31
48
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We thought this was a very nice country inn. The service and food are very good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night but this was just the sort of accomodation that we wanted. It is not a five star hotel with no character, but a country pub that is run by nice people who go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable. The Northbrook Arms is a very nice place to stay and in a picturesque village which is tucked away from most traffic but within easy reach of major roads. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shropshirelad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

this is a great little place , food very good, room very comfy ,all the staff very nice people.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulsmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leuven
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We booked the Northbrook Arms because of a visit to Winchester. It was a very pleasant surprise. The inn is beatifully situated in very quiet surroundings. The room was cosy and clean. We had dinner and this too was a nice surprise!
When in the morning the cook learned I was vegetarian , he made a delicious fruitsalad and regretted the fact he hadn't known it before.
The price was very reasonable too.
If possible we'll book again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeuvenAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham Market, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Sundays is a day we love searching for a good sunday roast. Although very pleasant, we did expect more for our money at the northbrook arms and the food was quite dissapointing, Did not get the attention to other regular customers.
On our way home we passed the half moon and spread eagle, Stopping for a quick look for next time, The car park was full and the resturant very busy. We asked if it was any trouble to have a coffee, the staff were very pleasant and although very busy, served a great coffee. The food passing through looked good and heard compliments to the chef, the price was far cheaper.the half moon and spread eagle is a must next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burnham89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We found the Northbrook Arms by chance after unsuccessful accommodation searches at other (far more pricey) places in the area. And what a stroke of luck! A quintessential country pub with lovely B 'n' B and fabulous food! The people are friendly, the pub atmospheric and with a pub garden ideal for adults & kids, and the MOST comfortable beds. Set in a small English village, a hop, skip & a jump from the M3 and easy access to Winchester (beautiful cathedral city & home to Jane Austen), Basingstoke and London (1 hour away by train, yet far from the madding - or should that be maddening? - crowd). We stayed for a weekend and returned for another - we were 'welcomed home' by the landlord - and left for Heathrow from here (80 minutes) to return to Australia. What a wonderful last memory of 'the green and pleasant land' the Northbrook gave us. A jewel of a place. If you go, remember to visit Winchester and do the children’s 'Wicked Winchester Cathedral' trail - even if you are an adult. Where else do you get to lie on the alter steps and crawl on your hands and knees up the knave like the early pilgrims? Great fun.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourismLecturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

My wife and I have been a few times for evening meals ad thoroughly enjoyed them. We decided to take family for Sunday lunch as we had told them about the high quality food and service. However Sunday lunch was a different matter. We had reserved a table for 1:30, on arrival we found that although there was a RESERVED sign on it, it was occupied by several people just drinking and we had to satnd and wait while it was vacated and cleared. Three of us ordered roast beef. The meat was quite dry, the vegetables luke warm and the Yorkshire pudding resembled and tasted like a carpet tile.
Tip. Go for evening meal and enjoy, forget Sunday lunch (unless the restaurant is less crowded.
Peter from Basingstoke

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
7.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
7.1 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,738 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
795 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
983 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Running Horse
The Running Horse
#9 of 52 in Winchester
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northbrook Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northbrook Arms

Property: Northbrook Arms
Address: East Stratton, East Stratton, , SO21 3, | East Stratton, Winchester, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northbrook Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Northbrook Arms - a traditional village pub with letting rooms. The pub itself is owned by Lord Northbrook and has been part of his family estate for generations. We are situated in the idyllic village of East Stratton just minutes from the A33 between Winchester and Basingstoke. The pub boasts two gardens – the green opposite the pub which is perfect for catching the sun all day long, and the pretty country garden to the side of the pub which has an enclosed area at the bottom where children can play safely. We also have a traditional Skittle Alley in the beautiful old stables – with its own bar, space for dining and of course the Skittles – it is the perfect place to have a party or function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Northbrook Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northbrook Arms Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing