We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harestock Lodge Hotel
Ranked #41 of 54 Winchester B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch!”
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I didn't stay at this hotel but went with my family for Sunday lunch. It had been recommended by friends. This seems to me to be a place in transition. I am not sure how long it has been under the current management. That aside, we had the best lunch I have experienced in a very long time, in Winchester. I travelled from London for the event. There was plenty of choice, amply sized portions, beautifully and calmly presented. It was very relaxed and I would say dealing with London Hotels, I wasn't sure at first that it wasn't a little too relaxed. However by the end of my meal I most definitely changed my mind. All the staff were wonderful. Professional, attentive but not overbearing. I forgot I was in a restaurant but felt at the end of our lunch that we had had a long lunch in our own dining room.
If I have any advice to the management. Don't under sell yourselves! You are too cheap for the quality of your food and your service!
Good luck to you all!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
26
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights, needing a stress break, and we certainly found it. The bedroom was fantastic, bed very comfortable, everything we needed, even to spending a whole rainy day in the room!! The food was of an exceptional standard, Kevin & Julia provided extra vegetarian dishes each evening for my husband. The soups were amazing and a wide variety of main courses, we only managed a pud twice as we were always full up, but they were fantastic too - and everything very reasonably priced. We will certainly return for more R & R and are recommending the hotel to all our friends. Kevin, Julia, & little Isabel were the perfect hosts, supported by excellent staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suekeir7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

hotel staff were very helpful, accomodating to our needs as we were staying for a long period. food exellent in a relaxing atmosphere after a hard day's work. would recommend to anyone for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phill_sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertLondon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in Room 14 which overlooks the rear garden. Great bedroom and bathroom. At £130 a night which includes a top breakfast I think this is good value for money for a fabulous room. Big bed with a canopy, two wing chairs and a settee in the bay window with lots of room.
Harestock Lodge is owned and managed by Kevin and Julia Kelly who have completely restored the property and have put their heart and soul into this B&B.
Harestock is just a few miles from Winchester and as a B&B benefits from an outstanding restaurant.
As a general rule we don't normally eat where we are staying but the weather this weekend was very wet and grim. The restaurant is top foodie notch. My steak was absolutely outstanding.

This is a great B&B to visit Winchester where you can relax after a long day out and about and eat well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Had a handicap equipped room - small but serviceable - bathroom could use a bit of updating. Stayed 3 nights and ate breakfast and dinner in the restaurant each day. Went on day trips to historical sites in the area - very convenient to the motorways and not too far from town center. The owners, and their little daughter, were delightful, adding to the ambiance of the B&B. They were of great help in answering our questions and finding out information for us. Definitely a keeper - would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmie1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Found this hotel after ringing a few in the Winchester Tourist Guides booklet-we were very pleasantly surprised.Gorgeous bedroom-a real taste of luxury.Ensuite bathroom also very stylish and loads of hot water! Breakfast very good and wasplentiful and homely.We felt that the price paid was good value ,considering the luxurious and comfortable treat of a bedroom we stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcjbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Seven of us stayed here as part of a family occasion and we were very impressed with the place. The couple who run it are really helpful and friendly, the hotel itself delightful and welcoming and breakfast excellent and varied (not everyone wants a fry-up!). It is spacious, light and airy; the rooms are all of a high standard; the upstairs bedroom my daughter's family has was spectacular! We chose the hotel on the basis of the reviews on this website and were very pleased we did so.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hafodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
957 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
748 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
FLowerdews Boutique Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
The Running Horse
The Running Horse
#16 of 54 in Winchester
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harestock Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harestock Lodge Hotel

Property: Harestock Lodge Hotel
Address: 65 Harestock Road, Winchester SO22 6NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Hotel Class:3 star — Harestock Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harestock Lodge Hotel exudes charm and, with only 17 bedrooms, guests can look forward to a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Situated just a short distance from the city centre the hotel affords a somewhat quieter ambiance than many of the city hotels. The hotel is equipped to cater for older or disabled customers. Kevin and Julia Kelly, its proprietors, are committed to providing quality service at reasonable prices. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing