We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice eating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Vine

The Old Vine
Ranked #8 of 200 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: This Grade II listed 18th-century inn is the perfect place to meet for lunch, supper or just a drink in relaxed, convivial surroundings - moments away from Winchester Cathedral, and conveniently located in Winchester's vibrant city centre, with its first-rate shopping, restaurants, bars and bustling night-life. Winchester College, the university and historical sites such as the Great Hall are only a short walk away. The Old Vine was awarded Bronze in the Tourism Pub of the Year category and Highly Commended in the Guest Accommodation category for The Beautiful South Awards for Excellence 2014/15, celebrating the best in tourism and hospitality throughout the region.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice eating”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Pub + Restaurant. Very friendly, warm atmosphere with good wholesome food. There were light eats as well for a lighter lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SJS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldvine, Manager at The Old Vine, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for your feedback we appreciate you taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    300
    86
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Experience”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Went for a meal and ordered Buffalo Burger along with 2 other dishes. The Burger was dry and over-cooked and the staff advised. After a while my plate was taken away and then several minutes later a member of staff advised me that according to the chef, I was wrong in thinking the burger was dry and over-cooked and that I shouldn't order it again! By this time, others in the party had almost finished their meals so it wasn't practical to choose something else so I went without.
I have had Buffalo meat many times in many restaurants and know how it is correctly cooked. don't need a defensive chef with an over inflated ego to tell me if it's dry. It wasn't appropriate to make a fuss at the table as it was a special event for my son but needless to say it ruined the meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest, I'm sorry you were disappointed on your recent visit. I've spoken with the staff member who looked after your table, and he recalls taking your burger back to the kitchen, where the chef offered to either recook the dish or to prepare something else from the menu. The server then relayed this information to you, but you declined both options. Accordingly the dish was removed from the bill. I'm sorry you came away with the impression of an arrogant attitude from the chef - but it appears he was trying to explain that the buffalo burgers are made with partlicularly tender meat that is easily overcooked, rather than trying to tell you how the dish ought to be served. This was not his intention, and I am sorry his apology was misconstrued. The kitchen prepares 100s of these burgers every week and the majority are well received but of course now and again mistakes do happen, and we apologise that your visit was spoiled by this incident, particularly on a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just across from the cathedral. Welcoming exterior and warm atmosphere inside. Plenty of space between tables and friendly staff. Delicious blue cheese, pear and mascarpone starter. Well-cooked duck and steak mains. Wine list obviously something they have thought about but caters for all pockets. Delicious honey and vanilla pannacotta dessert. Deserves the reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldvine, Manager at The Old Vine, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks very much for the review, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“not such a warm welcome on a cold night”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

sadly even in 2013 there are still pubs that do not feel happy about serving coffee, machine is switched off. Do they not have a kettle? you could always buy a DRINK. Coffee should be available whenever the bar is open, sadly not here!!

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldvine, Manager at The Old Vine, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I'm sorry you were disappointed on your recent visit. We serve approximately 150 cups or tea and coffee per day, so i can assure you that we are not a pub that's unwilling to serve hot beverages. You visited at approximately 10.30pm on a midweek night, and regrettably the barista machine had already been shut down for cleaning. This is a labour-intensive job, and on quieter nights, once all diners in the restaurant have been served coffee, this job is sometimes started early before the bar closes at 11pm, as there is little call for coffee or tea this late in the evening. On the night of your visit the bar person on duty explained that the machine's boiler would take 30 minutes to repressurise, and so a coffee from this machine was not possible. In addition, strange though it may seem, we don't have a kettle in the public areas, as we rely on the barista machine for hot water. In any case this would not have provided a solution as we don't serve instant coffee. Once again we're sorry that you were disappointed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly pub”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arranged to meet a friend in Winchester and after searching Trip Advisor decided to book The Old Vine. Really glad we did. I emailed them and they kindly confirmed our booking. The table was waiting for us and they didn't hassle me when I sat nursing a drink whilst waiting for my friend who had been delayed. The staff were attentive but not overly so, the food was delicious and there was a good choice to suit everyone. It was reasonably priced and we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. Thank you!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
You're welcome! Thanks for the feedback, it's appreciated. And it's always a pleasure to hear when a guest has been well looked after by the staff, who work hard to make everyone feel at home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Vine also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Twyford, Winchester
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Old Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing