We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we have had for years.”

La Place Bistro & Froggies Bar
Ranked #22 of 207 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
1 review
“Best meal we have had for years.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went out for a birthday meal and could not fault anything. La Place is a quality restaurant and the prices reflect excellent value for top end dining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalcMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    98
    30
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little bit of France in Winchester”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Love this place. The two owners and the staff are so friendly. The food is of a good standard though I usually stick to the Steak Hache. The platter of charcuterie and cheeses is more than ample for two people. We use it as a convenient early supper place for concerts at the Cathedral.
Very female friendly too. I feel very at ease on my own with a glass of chilled white wine and the crossword.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what you get”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very pleasant place in a nice square right by the cathedral and museum, with tables outside and well-presented interior. Service was excellent - attentive and as quick as you'd want, although it was fairly quiet on the lunchtime we went.
Food, though decent, was generally uninspiring. The lunchtime menu looked reasonable value at £13.95 for 2 courses and £16.95 for 3, but the quantities were generally poor - for example the fishcake (main) was not large and came with nothing more than a fairly ordinary salad. The chicken paella, whilst quite a tasty dish, was really not a paella at all - rather a spicy rice dish with 2 not very big pieces of marinaded chicken.
I guess you have to expect fairly high prices in such a location, but I'd also expect decent quantities. Could be really good but didn't make it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, A
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Saucy Meal”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had dinner here, largely because of the outlook to the cathedral. The staff were friendly and the dining room nicely appointed. Unfortunately both the courses I ordered (a smoked haddock tart, and a pork and potato dish) were totally drowned in heavy, creamy sauces. In the restaurant's defence, the sauces were mentioned on the menu, but when the food came out, it was all I could taste. Left the restaurant feeling very bloated and a little ill.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not worth it and totally uninspired”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The place looked like a nice venue with 4 tables outside with view towards the cathedral; and it was a sunny day. The service was friendly enough but utterly incompetent; the amount of walking they did empty handed was unbelievable. They would serve the table next to ours and totally ignore us. Service was just shambles!

For a French bistrot the menu was also totally uninspired. It was Sunday so it was good to have a Sunday roast option, but the options were pretty much all the same: roast beef, roast pork, roast chicken, salmon and a vegetarian risotto.

The food took long to arrive, the place was cold which meant the food was nearly cold too. Although the beef was good, the Yorkshire pudding was not home made and the potatoes not crisp. at nearly GBP 15 this was not worth it; as other places as we later saw charged only about GBP 12-13 and it looked better.

We had to ask 4 times for the bill and eventually had to go inside to pay and it took 3 people to get us the bill. The first one was wrong and they had to redo it. They were apologetic about the whole situation, but clearly they seemed to me used to apologising to people.

Verdict? NEVER AGAIN.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Place Bistro & Froggies Bar also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to La Place Bistro & Froggies Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing