We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Star Tavern
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7(Southampton)(Great Value!)
$79
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$75
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$77
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$107
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Keys(Southampton)
$77
$75
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pig in the Wall(Southampton)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
229
149
66
31
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
149
66
31
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoxford streetdinner downstairslively barnarrow stairsstreet noisepub with roomsboutique hotelrestaurants and barsno elevatorfresh milkmini barcomfy bedocean villagetop floorlarge roomqueen maryno air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 487 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Been there done that with London
Too big and too many hassles
Not so in the quaint Southampton
White Star! Great location service food and the room was great too
Complete with complimentary French press coffee and vintage tub

Probably better for couples
With the pub etc

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed in the White Star Tavern and it really was fabulous. The rooms are all nice and the staff are really friendly. We also ate in the restaurant and the food is amazing. The bar and restaurant have a great atmosphere (throughout the day). In terms of price I think the rooms are excellent value and the food while quite pricey is definitely worth the money. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The White Star Tavern is a little gem of a boutique hotel. The staff are very attentive and keen to help wherever possible.

Check in was pleasant and I was really made to feel like a valued guest.

Upon entry to the room I was greeted by a darkened room and a fan on full speed. I smelt a rat.

The building has been fully refurbished to high standards, however there is no aircon. This being said, how many months of the year do we need aircon in the UK? Virtually never.

It was pure bad luck that I had been allocated a room on the top floor which was a heat magnet.

I was assured that the sun would go down and so would the room temperature. Unfortunately that didn't happen. The management team were very understanding and kindly moved me to another room as soon as one was available.

It's also worth a mention that the aircon wasn't present in the restaurant either and my wine was served warm and a cooler took forever.

However lets remember this was August and it's rare to get this level of heat even on an evening.

The positives are the comfy bed, crispy sheets and attentive service from the management team.

Great location, great experience overall and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneWonder1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We are breakfast here whilst staying in Southampton with a vouchercloud 241 voucher!

We paid £25 for 4 cooked breakfasts & bit drinks!

The staff were very friendly, and arriving at 10.55 the chef kindly agreed to still cook breakfasts for us.

2 of our drinks arrived luke warm but were promptly changed when asked!

There was a slight error with one if the breakfasts but again this was quickly rectified! The food was nice, although probably not quiet worth it's full price, but reasonable for the offer we had!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank cazzaharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Came here for a 3 day teaching course, did not stay at hotel but had full use of their facilities. Buy a coffee and get free refills. Food is amazing although a tad expensive. Good choice of wines. Breakfast looked wonderful! Seating area outside to watch the world go by. Live music on certain nights. Staff very professional yet friendly and very helpful. Conference facilities are small yet adequate and suited our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews