We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing sushi!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zen Japanese & Oriental Restaurant

Zen Japanese & Oriental Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Zen Japanese & Oriental Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 841 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a Japanese restaurant with some Asian fusion cuisine, we have a wide selection of food menu including sushi, Teriyaki and other dishes. We have a big lounge bar at the front of the restaurant for casual dining and a dining area for more formal dinner. We also have tables and chairs outside our restaurant during summer time for customers to relax and enjoy their food and drink.
Southampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing sushi!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went to Zen last Friday night and had the buffet menu. Although you can eat as much as you like, you can order small amounts at a time and it is cooked fresh so that we got to try quite a lot. The sushi is delicious and next time I go I will have a lot more of that! The reason I didn't give it a 5 rating is because we were asked so many times whether we would like to order something when we already had. This is obviously because there are so many staff and you order a bit at a time, but maybe they could find a way of knowing when you have ordered, as it did get a little annoying. However, I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rozi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    115
    53
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Georgous set lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Me and my partner visited zen for lunch to try out there set menu, there was a choice of a sushi starter and then a main, I had the katsu chicken curry, and it was lovely.

worth every penny, and out side seating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaylee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for attentive but not instructive staff, great sushi, quick service then this is the place to eat at. Food tasted fabulous and the spicy squid is to die for, I will definitely be returning soon

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skye13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Chinese, not Japanese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

On entering the restaurant it soon became clear that this not a Japanese restaurant and non of the staff spoke Japanese. A bit of a disappointment for my guests.

And so to the food, to start with, probably the worst Mizo soup I have ever tasted. Very poor, weak and tasted like it had cabbage and not seaweed?

So to the sushi, not very inspiring and didn't taste particularly fresh. But the worst part was when we ordered something a little different, smoked eel sushi. I have never had warm sushi, and this was because the eel had been defrosted and was still warm.

The service was good and the staff worked hard to please, but at no point did anyone ask how the meal was, and being British, I don't like the service charge added to the bill.

still, the beer was genuine and cold.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lee1pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went for a buffet meal at zen, haven't been for about three years and the food then was delicious. Have to admit I was disappointed tonight... As buffets go zen is great in the sense that everything comes out fresh, but tonight the food seemed less flavoursome and pretty average. The ramen was just Italian spaghetti and all food was poorly seasoned. Great variety but I won't rush to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bethanyc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Japanese & Oriental Restaurant also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Zen Japanese & Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing