We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Yum Cha as always-fast service and left full and happy.”
Review of Kam's Palace

Kam's Palace
Ranked #277 of 852 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $27 - $36
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Yum Cha as always-fast service and left full and happy.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Mostly Chinese when we visited on a Sunday afternoon and had some great cha dishes- Choy sum in garlic always comes out first and sets the mood for the rest of the meal, the yum cha which followed were all very good to fantastic. As usual ,noticed most of the English customers ordering piles of fried noodles etc. When will they learn!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattAko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    74
    52
    41
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive and very cold”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Six of us recently had a meal at this restaurant, it was so cold that we had to put our coats back on as we were eating our meal, other diners at different tables also did the same. We mentioned to the waiter how cold it was and he said oh yes we have some problems with the heating, no apology. The meal was served fairly slowly and with no plate warmers to keep the food hot, it soon got cold. The meal with just one soft drink each, cost £204. and an extra £20 was debited as a gratuity, despite entering NO to gratuity on the machine. This was a special occasion to celebrate a birthday, so especially upsetting. For this price, we did expect better service, and at least a warm atmosphere to eat in.Needless to say, we shall not be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladytraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lacking atmosphere and okay food”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Visited this Chinese restaurant after 17 years and most probably won't go back for another 17.
We appeared to be a bit of an inconvenience to the staff, upon asking for a half portion for my eight year old was told that they didn't do that, wine was plonked on the table and the starter was awful. We did advise the waiters and they told the chef, we got some prawn crackers as a sweetener. To be fair the main courses were good, but lacking fresh vegetables. When the bill came we had to ask them to remove the cost of the starter.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sykesc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Quiet night but it was nice. Food ok better place in local area, just bit expensive. Staff were nice- but were getting enough money from the meal!! Ok for a treat

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrhappy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Over priced food and rude staff.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you want below average food which is over priced, plus very bad/rude service, I strongly suggest you visit this Chinese Restaurant.

You have been warned.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vingerred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kam's Palace also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Kam's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing