We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish 'n chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Platform Tavern

Platform Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Platform Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 846 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston Ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fish 'n chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Was recommended to eat here by the hotel as we wanted fish 'n chips. Huge portions of fresh chips and fish arrived a the table. Place was crowded and had difficulty finding a seat. Service was fine. Would go back in a minute for the great food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    79
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pub, great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is probably my favourite pub in Southampton. It serves a great selection of drinks with real ales and proper ciders. The food is home cooked and the portions are enormous - try the pie!
There's always something going on at the Platform and it has a great vibe to it. It's only downside is it's lack of outside space but we can't have everything!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZanZanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The appearance from the outside is not so good but inside it's even worse. The entire place needs cleaned.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank corsairSanJoseCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"Live music and good food"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Went in on jubilee holiday to find an excellent live jazz and blues band were playing,enjoyed the atmosphere so much we decided to stay and eat rather than go elsewhere.A very good choice of starters and mains good value and service. Will go again on our next visit to Southampton.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barryandlesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Laid back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Been going to the Platform for about a year & pop in for a bite & a few beers when we visit Southampton Center, It's off the beaten track and has a real nice laid back atmosphere & good food most of the time, had the burger yesterday & thought it was a bit greasy (not juicy) but have had the roasts & steaks before & very tasty, the musssels in garcic sauce are excellent - Portions can be a bit tight, especially with the roasts but the quality is very good. Had a few issues with rude staff but it's a pub so I have no problem shrugging that off. Always playing mellow laid back music & the live bands they have are always of a great standard. I just like going here to chill out!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherinPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platform Tavern also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Platform Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing