We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfailingly enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sara's Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Sara's Thai Restaurant
Price range: $21 - $41
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unfailingly enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Six of us ate here to celebrate my niece's 16th birthday as it is her favourite local restaurant, to which she will often go paying her own way. It is intimate and buzzing with excellent food (make sure to order a sticky rice and a pad thai to share between two whatever else you are eating from the wide selection!). The only disappointment was that one dish took a long time to appear. This was, however, deducted from our bill. Take plenty of cash as they do not accept either debit or credit cards.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanWells32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    46
    16
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“southampton trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

starter ok
main poor had the tia green beef curry beef looked a bit ropey
sweet very good banana fritter
will not be trying again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wayne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good food, a nice surprise after previous visits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Its been a long time since Ive been to Sara's Thai. Last trip was before the smoking ban. Then it was cramped with far too many tables in there with a loud man (one of the owners I was told) drinking with his buddies in the corner and smoking a grotty cigar. I hadnt been back since. A recent failure to reserve situation put us back there. So so much better. Food was very nice in balance, perhaps a little limited on the menu front. A little pricey for that it was but in general it was fun, clean and enjoyable. A good meal and we will be back. "Very good" 4* is perhaps a little generous but "Average 3*" is massively unfair so 4* it is!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We live just down the road and across the bridge from here and have tried the other restaurants near, like Cenos, Trago etc.. and this is without a doubt the best food in this area. Don't be fooled by its exterior; the decoration is simple and plain but that all falls away once you try the food. My Partner and I haven't tried much Thai food so thought we would have a few starters and share a main. Best idea and would probably just have starter! Would 100% recommend this place, and definitely book a table!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S_Jay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have had 2 meals over the past few weeks and although a bit pricey, the food, service and atmosphere were really good. We will certainly be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveinmunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sara's Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing