We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puccinis

Puccinis
Ranked #45 of 840 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Came here for Valentine's Day.

Nice authentic restaurant with a strong Italian theme. The open kitchen made a nice change. Was a bit noisy but that was the other people talking, nothing the restaurant itself could have done.

We had the antipasto sharer platter to start, which was amazing. In some places with this dish all you get is two types of meat and some cabbage (which we had actually in Italy at a VERY expensive restaurant and were very let down!), however this one had a wide selection of meats, with salad garnish, olives and balsamic dressing. Very tasty! I had the pollo colloseo which was delicious, whilst my partner had the prawns (which were a little spicy). For dessert we shared a brownie because we were so full! Drinks were reasonably priced as well, when we received the bill we were pleasantly surprised.

Overall a very pleasant evening and we would definitely return again. A better Italian restaurant than some that we visited actually in Rome!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    67
    22
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely New Years Eve Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Lovely food - both starter and mains!

So tasty, all freshly cooked.

Staff very friendly and the bill was also very friendly ;-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samantha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Went to Puccini's for a family 40th birthday. We were a large party but the staff coped very well. Food & service was excellent. We will certainly return again

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
552 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Great evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Three of us visited on a Friday evening; the restaurant was about half full.
The food was very good, we had: Polpette Al Pomodoro - Mini beef meatballs in tomato, onions
& chilli sauce served with ciabatta, Whitebait - crisp deep-fried whitebait with mayonnaise, Prosciutto e Melone - Parma ham & melon with a balsamic olive oil, Pollo Colosseo - Chicken breast with bacon, black pepper & garlic in a cream sauce, Scallopine Marsala - Tender escalope of veal lightly cooked with onions, mushrooms, marsala wine & cream. All the portions were large, and reasonably priced.
Good service and a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Always a great places as food is amasing. Prices are good with local venue, parking can be a pain but nothing more than a short walk.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrewscadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccinis also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Puccinis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing