We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast Service good Fish”
Review of Harry Ramsden's

Harry Ramsden's
Ranked #202 of 859 Restaurants in Southampton
Restaurant details
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“Fast Service good Fish”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Whilst visiting West Quay we found this fish restaurant, service was fast and efficient, portion size of fish very acceptable the chips were also a good portion and was served HOT. On the downside would have liked a Pea Fritter but they only do mushy peas, perhaps in the future they might introduce this in this unit. Will certainly visit again in the future

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ianexamsBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    31
    17
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brightwell-cum-Sotwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old chips”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Couldn't find a fish and chip but found this one in the main shopping centre. Ordered 3 medium cods, sat and ate and saw that the chips were well old, no flavour and had some green and black bits - not very appertising to say the least. Fish was okay, very small portion made up by the fat batter. Asked for a refund as not up to the normal quality and got it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adman020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great fish and chips”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

love going here always jolly staff very busy place but always made to feel welcome, is a little pricey but love the atmosphere

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can't complain”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Came here for a healthier lunch as opposed to KFC/Burger King etc over the weekend. I ordered the battered chicken chunks with chips and a drink. The portion were on the small side but surprisingly it filled me up and I was happy.

The service was a bit bemusing, I was given a tray with my drink on and said the wait would be around 5 minutes, okay not a problem I thought. I sat at a table and after 10 minutes or so I heard someone behind the counter shout "chicken chunks and chips!?!" I turned around and saw a woman with my food in the air, I thought I probably should get up and get them.

I was a bit surprised at this and assumed my food would be brought to me. Other customers received their food to their table during my visit...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieFellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK but not spectacular”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food here is ok but i have had better chips from a lovely chippy in Shirley, Southampton to be honest. Id neither recommend it nor tell others to avoid it.

Its not particularly big portions but the food fills a gap.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisy1967186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry Ramsden's also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Harry Ramsden's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing