We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dancing and dinner in Southampton”
Review of Merchants Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Merchants Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $9 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a family ran Restaurant and Bar, offering a section of Steak and Seafood menus. Based in Ocean Village Marina, Southampton. Check out our web site to see the latest offers and events. Thank you for your interest John & Mandy
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dancing and dinner in Southampton”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great venue great entertainment great evening,customer service needs to be improved, food very average, starters were poor main coarse we had the pork with roast potatoes and vegetables which were very good, sweets were awful we had pavlova it was a shop bought meringue with a dollop of badly mixed cream yuk!!!
The barman was very good nothing was to much trouble and help make it a good evening. We were a large group of friends and had a great night.
The lady in charge pulled a face when asked for bread with the starter and extra veg with the main when there was not enough to go around. We still had a good night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    18
    9
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Evening”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Group of 12 of us on a Thursday evening. The whole evening was most enjoyable. The meals were out of this world, my ribs were to die for. Not one complaint about the evening. Staff were all very polite and curtious. We had the buy two meals get cheapest free deal. I am booking Merchants for my birthday next month !! Thank you....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely Great!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Came in last Thursday night, as attracted by their offer of 2 for 1 on Steak Menu and we immediately loved the place. Quality is excellent, food cooked to perfection and a lot cheaper than anywhere else, if you consider that for a T-Bone steak and a Fillet, both 14oz, we paid just for the highest in price which was around 20 pounds. Service wasn't excellent, BUT the management is great. The lady who came to the table, asking about our experience there, was lovely and smiling. We also had the opportunity to say hi to the chef, who suggested us different choices of mains for our next visit, which will probably be next Wednesday.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lory s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worth Looking For”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The place was busy when we arrived due to 2 large parties, we were invited to sit at the bar for a drink while we waited. The menu had several meals that were interesting and different from the usual resturants, we chose chicken wonderland and pork rhumba as our mains. This was the best food we had in Southampton during our visit. Paul and Mandy were friendly and chatted to us throughout our visit about the resturant and the area, same as with the other diners. Place was a bit hard to find due to the redevelopment but well worth looking for. We were there on a 2-4-1 evening but the food was worth the full price. Normally we like to look for different resturants on holiday, this is one to revisit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda28998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Dinned here on Thursday with our daughter. Good choice on the menu and a lot cheaper than some restaurants on the waterfront round the corner in Ocean Village.

Service was prompt and food delivered was as advertised and good.

On a Tuesday and Thursday the cheapest meal in a group is free! so worth going on these nights if possible.

Good atmosphere and friendly reception and service.

We have been here before and our recent visit was good like the last, so consistent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rollerteam707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchants Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing