We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best New Years' Eve venue in Southampton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merchants Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Merchants Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family ran Restaurant and Bar, offering a section of Steak and Seafood menus. Based in Ocean Village Marina, Southampton. Check out our web site to see the latest offers and events. Thank you for your interest John & Mandy
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best New Years' Eve venue in Southampton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was the third New Years' Eve that my wife and I have spent at Merchants and I have to say that each one gets better and better. The entertainment last night was first class and the food delicious. We both ordered the fillet steak as our main course and this was cooked to perfection. The friendly, professional staff led by Mandy the extremely hard working, welcoming manageress helped create a truly amazing atmosphere and all that I can add to this review is roll on next year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    18
    9
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Manageress ruined the evening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Booked restaurant for my mums bday and manageress treated everyone like kids, even shouting at guests!

Shouldn't be in this industry if can handle it!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsHW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamble, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very disapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our main Christmas work party,it was full with various other party's, the staff coped well but the food was dreadful. I've had better food in a cafe.
That was disappointing but there was worse to come YES the gay camp entertainment for the night made his appearance.After 30 minutes we all decided enough was enough and left, never again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 765Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, Awful management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

It's a shame the management is so poor in this little restaurant. The food is excellent, but the manageress is clearly not particularly versed in good customer service/general manners. She was quite rude to us and another group next to us, who were clearly not impressed either. Second visit here and probably won't go again. Shame really

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Danmoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
2 reviews
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I popped in here whilst staying in the flats opposite. The restaurant was empty and I wanted a quick meal on my own.
I was made very welcome and had some very nice beers.
The food was the best bit: Ribs for starters were excellent, enough for two and well presented.
I had the Chicken Wonderland which was a crispy filo wrapped chicken dish served with some lovely vegetables and a sauce, very well cooked with imagination. Again, enough for two.
I have no Idea why the place next door was so full except it was a chain, - they must all just follow the herd.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank K_JHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchants Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing