We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Go”

The Vestry Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #106 of 854 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Go”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My colleagues and I visited The Vestry for our Christmas do and had such a wonderful time. The food was superb and the service was very prompt and efficient. We were concerned before going as the menu was quite extensive and as it was at a busy time like Christmas we had reservations about the potential quality of the food to be served. However, the food on the night was to the same high standard as any other night you may go- fantastically well cooked, well presented, and delicious. We chose to stay on for the disco, which made the night complete. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. This was my second visit to the restaurant, and it most certainly won't be my last!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    178
    71
    54
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“VERY Poor idea of customer service - we meant nothing to them!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A group of five of us booked a table for Tuesday 11th December for our annual Christmas meal. We had booked our table many weeks previously. However, we received a phone call at 10pm on Monday 10th December cancelling our table due to a larger group needing our table! As you can imagine, we were absolutely disgusted that a company could treat us like this, even worse that we had made our booking that far in advance because of the fact that it was December. There was no way we were going to get a reservation anywhere else with all the Christmas parties, so thank you to the vestry for ruining our Christmas meal, I am glad your customers mean so little to you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exellent pre panto meal”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

we enjoyed an excellent meal for 8 people to celebrate a Birthday on dec 23rd, three courses for £20 which was good value. everything was eaten and enjoyed. the service was friendly and quick and we all enjoyed the experience and would go back next time we go to the theatre.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Imposing building, can handle large groups but room for improvement”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Visited here as part of a large pre-Xmas group. Food generally well presented but cold, overall service took the best part of three hours. Would like to try again with a smaller group as it shows potential and was perhaps unfair to rate base on such a large event.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaroonCases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“new year”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

new years eve spent at the vestry and what a fantastic eve food was lovely music excellent surroundings beautiful.
a brilliant eve all round well worth coming to this restaurant staff could not do enough.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandyb11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vestry Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Vestry Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing