We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask never fails to satisfy........”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ask Italian

Ask Italian
Ranked #314 of 846 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ASK Italian is one of the UK's leading casual dining restaurant brands with over 110 restaurants across the country. We are driven by a passion for authentic Italian food and culture and work with a number of expert friends, including chef Theo Randall, to bring the best of Italian life to the UK high street.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ask never fails to satisfy........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Ate here on an evening during a short stay in Southampton. I will say at first the location of the restaurant is not the best and the "leisure park" is a little rough around the edges but DONT LET THIS PUT YOU OFF.

As per most Ask restaurants the place is lovely. The food was as always excellent and the fella that served us was so friendly and nice !

I had the RUMP STEAK TAGLIATA which was AMAZING !! Please ASK dont let this slip off your menu its great.

Overall place was excellent - give it a try !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gashead81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    64
    33
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“First Visit to Ask Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Unfortunately I am not fan of the recent trend of making restaurants look like factory canteens with air conditioning ducts on show and open kitchens, however I realise this is a matter of personal taste. Food was generally OK and on par with other Italian restaurant chains but the dishes we ordered were expensive for what they offered the diner. Staff however were very attentive and helpful and the food was delivered quickly. This restaurant is situated close to Leisure World Cinema and ideal for a meal prior to or after watching a film.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We spent a lovely evening here pre-cruise. The food was great and the staff were lovely.
We had a great evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank maltomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Go later in the evening for a better atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I've said average things about ASK Southampton in the past, more relating to the atmosphere than the food and after visiting recently for my birthday, am delighted to be able to update my opinion. Previously I'd visited early in the evening with only a couple of other diners present and the place felt like the Marie Celeste; no atmosphere, waiters hanging around. My last visit was the opposite. Whilst the decor clearly remains the same, ASK Southampton needs the buzz for you to settle and relax into the meal and that was just what we had.

The menu was exciting, the service excellent and the price very reasonable; abley assisted with Tesco Clubcard vouchers, but definitely worthy of the full cost. With glasses of prosecco, wine, two starters and two mains, it came to approx. £45 - club card vouchers so great value.

I'll definitely be back but it'll be later in the evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tim_corke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Solid chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

ASK is always a solid chain and coming as part of a big group was generally fine. Apparently we'd arranged a glass of something in exchange for the group booking with one manager, but this was not communicated with another... but it was sorted in the end.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OckhamsRazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ask Italian also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Ask Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing