We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argyle Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7(Southampton)(Great Value!)
$80
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$90
$75
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$149
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$114
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Blue Keys(Southampton)
$77
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveler rating
28
31
18
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
31
18
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watershared bathroomkindness shownan en suite roomcooked optionschoice of cerealsstayed hereone nightpowerful showernight staytwo nightscity centreisle of wightfull english breakfastnext morningnight's sleepshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 85 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Although this offered an immaculate, well fitted room the landlady gave an air of indifference. I prefer guest houses to hotels as they tend to make you feel wanted, sadly this ws not the impresion I received. Maybe it was just a bad couple of days?

Regardless of the quality offering sliced packeted bread at the breakfast table. Bread machines produce high quality wonderfully aromomatic loaves cheaply, so there is no excuse for this. Alternatively so many bakers producing quality bread,plastic wrapped offerings should be consigned to the bin.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beurwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

stayed at this hotel with my husband we were made very welcome on arrival . we had a lovely room warm and clean we couldnt have made a better choice close to all ammieneties and a very nice breakfast would stay there again on our net visit thankyou judith for yor hospitality

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viena070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Found this B&B on Tripadvisor, had brilliant reviews so thought we would try it when next visiting friends in Southampton. Big Mistake!
1. On our arrival the landlady took ages to open the door and it was raining - hard.
2. Asked for quiet room - next to dining room which meant that we were awake with the first guest regardless.
3. On sitting on bed - sitting that is not lying - bottom instantly met the base, therefore had two awful nights' sleep.
4. Rust and beginnings of mildew in shower room.
5. Somebody must have blown a fuse because when we arrived back at the place, the only working electricity was the main light, no possibility of having a hot cup of anything, reading in bed or being able to go to the toilet without a torch.
6. No apology given for loss of power when we queried this at breakfast.
7. Poached egg yolks were hard.
8. I don't know who they buy their butter and jams from but they were virtually flavourless except for the blackcurrant jam.
9. Bread tasted as though it had been made with flour and semolina due to the texture.
10. Exceedingly strange decor which made the room even darker than it would naturally have been.
11. One of the ceiling lights must have been blown and had been replaced by a BLUE bulb!
12. No tissues in room and no serviettes at the breakfast table.
I am asked if I would recommend this place to a friend and I have to say that I would not be much of a friend if I did.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia4J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 6, 2010

I am very surprised by this review as it contradicts the interaction I had with this guest during her tay. I would like to reply accordingly. 1. sorry for any delay answering the door I may have been on the phone or in the bathroom, it was certaily no longer than 1 minute and the porch is covered. 2. Guest asked for a ground floor room and early guests were not noisy during her stay. 3. Our beds are top quality and hav been rated 4 star by tourist board inspector. 4. point taken this has now been rectified. 5. an overseas guest caused a fuse to blow at 10.30 pm and I was unaware of this problem until the next morning, service bell is available to report any such problem . I did apologise to ll guesta at breakfast nd this lady sympathised and said she totally understood but did not want to disturb me. Sorry about the eggs but we would have been more than happy to replace them. All bread is either Kingsmill or Allinsons and all other breakfast produce is sourced locally. Decor has been highly praised by inspectors and is frequently complimented by guests. Lighting is by government approved low energy bulbs. Tissues are now provided in all rooms and servirttes have always been available fromm the buffet table. It is very difficult to please some people. We consider ourselves to be a high standard 4 star guest house and should not be compared to a 4 star hotel as thid lady seems to have expected. She obviously has high expectations having told me tht she was disapointed with a Michelin starred restaurant as she could cook better herself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Great location BB, 5 mins walk from station and town. Excellent and friendly staff and a great breakfast to top it all for a good price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews