We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night's sleep, staff very friendly. Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great night's sleep, staff very friendly. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed at this hotel en route to a wedding. The room was very comfortable, had a great night's sleep and good breakfast before our journey. The Manager, Natalie, was particularly helpful in getting a fan and extra pillows for us. Will definitely use again.
Mrs E Tanner

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGoneroamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Thank you taking the time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor, and we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    286
    188
    87
    50
See reviews for
331
216
37
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The rooms were comfortable and i did enjoy this motel. the breakfast came with the room and the food and selection was OK. My only complaint is how the hotel is isolated if you don't have a car. We came by taxi and spent 3 nights there . TAxis are cheap so we walked about a mile to catch a bus to go to Shirley (a great little town) and downtown Southampton (a nice place to see).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctjbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Many thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
Whilst we are located on the outskirts of the city (approx 3 miles from the city centre), this does mean we are easy reach to many areas such as the New Forest, Southampton and Portsmouth.
Having a car is advantagious, however there are local bus services as you mentioned as an alternative to local taxi's.
We certianly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2010

breakfast scrambled egg dont think ever saw a real egg, black pudding and beans all dried up and black pudding burnt. we paid for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast but on 2nd evening we were 3mins late for dinner and we were refused service was toldd to go to bar where we had to pay 27.30 extra for a meal wed already paid for in with the price.. Air con kept turning itself off and we had yto have 2 fans and this was on the hottest days of the year. I have written 3 emails to the hotel since returning and not once have i had acknowledgement let a lone a reply.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsblackhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback however is not for our hotel as we do not offer the facilities you mention - black pudding at breakfast, air conditioned rooms and dinner bed and breakfast packages.
Please may I request that you re check the hotel details and re submit your feedback to them as I am sure they need to hear your comments.
If you are returning to Southampton, we would be pleased to accommodate at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Ipswich, Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed here with my Financé and her son last weekend and found this on hotels.com which for under £60 I thought was a right touch. The reviews on here were mixed to say the least but I have no trouble at all. The hotel was easy to find, ample car parking, staff were helpful and had already made up the sofa bed. The room was a good size but basic. But what do you expect from a cheap hotel chain! We had some food in the hotel as the England v USA game was on which was expensive and took a while to arrive. In the morning the breakfast was basic but complimentary so again no complaints.

Overall it was a no thrill no complaints hotel which is ideal if you need to get your head down for the night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suffolk_Mez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Thank you for giving us your feedback, and Im delighted you gave us a 'value for money' score.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Hotel was in an odd location, but actually worked out really well. Staff were very friendly and helpful with places to go and see localy. Bedroom was fab value was we were all in the room for one set price which also included a breakfast. the breakfast wasnt really one or the other as its abit of mixure but it suited us fine. Overall good value for the 4 of us. Oh and the hotel is quite noisy but then it is by a motorway!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed at this hotel (booked via laterooms.com) whilst visiting friends and family in the area. Check-in was quick and polite but strangely said 'you can take breakfast up to your room' which we didn't think anything more of at that time.
The room itself was not flush but served it's purpose well and was clean. Only gripe is that the TV didn't enable you to see the 'Guide' function so you had no way of finding out what was on tv.
As the hotel is not near the centre of Southampton, I don't think it appeals to the stag/hen party market so there were no disturbances during the night.

In the morning, we went down to breakfast at approx 10am (breakfast served until 11am on a weekend) and couldn't believe how disorganised it was.
The serving area has not been well designed because the people getting their cereals, milk and toast were banging into people who were getting the very basic cooked breakfast (sausage & scrambled egg), hot drinks, fruit juices or the very dull (& cold) pastries selection.
The dining area has only 10 tables at the most therefore people wanting breakfast who couldn't find a table (either because the tables were occupied or guests' trays had not been cleared) were eating at the lower level tables which were part of the bar area.
As there were no empty trolleys to place your trays in once you had finished - the only visible one was full - the people who couldn't get a table in the dining area, left their own trays in the bar area.
The result of all of this was an obvious mess with no one attempting to clear it up because the three visible staff were busily trying to keep the serving areas tidy and stocked up - to the detriment of everywhere else. Even when we left the hotel an hour later, there were still breakfast trays left out in the bar area.
The following day, after receiving advice from reception the night before, we came down just after 8am to see the same situation unfolding again so we packed up, checked out and had a nice relaxing, full cooked breakfast at the service station just up the M27 towards the airport !!
This situation might be because it was a weekend but if a hotel chooses to have approx 150+ rooms, it needs to have the facilities to be able to cope if all the guests wanted breakfast !!
2 tips -
1) a much better breakfast is available at Rownhams service station just on the M27 after junction 3 (take the M271 from behind the hotel heading towards the M27, take the 3rd exit on the roundabout (eastbound) onto the M27 and the services will be the next sign you see)
2) for very tasty evening meals for under £10, go to the White Swan on Mansbridge Road (A27)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itinerantnortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thank you for your comments on your recent breakfast experience at the hotel.

The hot item offering has only been in operation for one week and we are still experimenting will the location of new equipment and ordering with the suppliers.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we appreciate your patience in this time of transition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

We spent a night here at the beginning of January to break up a journey to Brighton due to the bad weather.

Car parking is ample. We didn't arrive till early evening and had no problems finding a space. The hotel is close to the motorway and situated in what looks like a business park but it is only a short drive into Southampton.

The staff at check in were very friendly and our room was basic but spotlessly clean.

The hotel does not serve food at weekends but there is a pub nearby. The hotel also has menus from various take aways and they deliver directly to the hotel. We had a curry in the bar and the hotel were more than happy to supply cutlery and crockery.

Breakfast was simple and adequate.

I would use it again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
842 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 24 in Southampton
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,687 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing