We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed here with my Financé and her son last weekend and found this on hotels.com which for under £60 I thought was a right touch. The reviews on here were mixed to say the least but I have no trouble at all. The hotel was easy to find, ample car parking, staff were helpful and had already made up the sofa bed. The room was a good size but basic. But what do you expect from a cheap hotel chain! We had some food in the hotel as the England v USA game was on which was expensive and took a while to arrive. In the morning the breakfast was basic but complimentary so again no complaints.

Overall it was a no thrill no complaints hotel which is ideal if you need to get your head down for the night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suffolk_Mez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2010

Thank you for giving us your feedback, and Im delighted you gave us a 'value for money' score.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 834 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2010

Hotel was in an odd location, but actually worked out really well. Staff were very friendly and helpful with places to go and see localy. Bedroom was fab value was we were all in the room for one set price which also included a breakfast. the breakfast wasnt really one or the other as its abit of mixure but it suited us fine. Overall good value for the 4 of us. Oh and the hotel is quite noisy but then it is by a motorway!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Stayed at this hotel (booked via laterooms.com) whilst visiting friends and family in the area. Check-in was quick and polite but strangely said 'you can take breakfast up to your room' which we didn't think anything more of at that time.
The room itself was not flush but served it's purpose well and was clean. Only gripe is that the TV didn't enable you to see the 'Guide' function so you had no way of finding out what was on tv.
As the hotel is not near the centre of Southampton, I don't think it appeals to the stag/hen party market so there were no disturbances during the night.

In the morning, we went down to breakfast at approx 10am (breakfast served until 11am on a weekend) and couldn't believe how disorganised it was.
The serving area has not been well designed because the people getting their cereals, milk and toast were banging into people who were getting the very basic cooked breakfast (sausage & scrambled egg), hot drinks, fruit juices or the very dull (& cold) pastries selection.
The dining area has only 10 tables at the most therefore people wanting breakfast who couldn't find a table (either because the tables were occupied or guests' trays had not been cleared) were eating at the lower level tables which were part of the bar area.
As there were no empty trolleys to place your trays in once you had finished - the only visible one was full - the people who couldn't get a table in the dining area, left their own trays in the bar area.
The result of all of this was an obvious mess with no one attempting to clear it up because the three visible staff were busily trying to keep the serving areas tidy and stocked up - to the detriment of everywhere else. Even when we left the hotel an hour later, there were still breakfast trays left out in the bar area.
The following day, after receiving advice from reception the night before, we came down just after 8am to see the same situation unfolding again so we packed up, checked out and had a nice relaxing, full cooked breakfast at the service station just up the M27 towards the airport !!
This situation might be because it was a weekend but if a hotel chooses to have approx 150+ rooms, it needs to have the facilities to be able to cope if all the guests wanted breakfast !!
2 tips -
1) a much better breakfast is available at Rownhams service station just on the M27 after junction 3 (take the M271 from behind the hotel heading towards the M27, take the 3rd exit on the roundabout (eastbound) onto the M27 and the services will be the next sign you see)
2) for very tasty evening meals for under £10, go to the White Swan on Mansbridge Road (A27)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itinerantnortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2010

Thank you for your comments on your recent breakfast experience at the hotel.

The hot item offering has only been in operation for one week and we are still experimenting will the location of new equipment and ordering with the suppliers.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we appreciate your patience in this time of transition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

We spent a night here at the beginning of January to break up a journey to Brighton due to the bad weather.

Car parking is ample. We didn't arrive till early evening and had no problems finding a space. The hotel is close to the motorway and situated in what looks like a business park but it is only a short drive into Southampton.

The staff at check in were very friendly and our room was basic but spotlessly clean.

The hotel does not serve food at weekends but there is a pub nearby. The hotel also has menus from various take aways and they deliver directly to the hotel. We had a curry in the bar and the hotel were more than happy to supply cutlery and crockery.

Breakfast was simple and adequate.

I would use it again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devonbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

I stayed here for two nights in the same week - one night during the week and one Saturday. Reception was fast, efficient and friendly on both occasions.

The hotel offers evening meals on weekdays only - something I hadn't noticed until I asked about it on the Saturday night. On the weekday I had food - a very expensive microwaved curry that took 30 minutes to arrive after I placed the order - not worth the wait or the money.

The location is pretty vile - right next to a motorway, so no chance to wander out for anything like a pleasant walk or to pick up some food. The reception on my phone was terrible (not the fault of the hotel but indicative of the poor location).

The rooms are clean but fairly ugly. There's something slightly claustrophobic about this hotel, in my opinion.

The reception/TV lounge/bar/breakfast area is dominated by a huge and loud flatscreen TV. Everything seems to revolve around it. There were groups of people tucking into indian takeaways both evenings.

I recently stayed at the other Express by Holiday Inn - the one close to the airport (M27/J7) and found it to be a far more pleasant experience.

I don't plan to return to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingscotsman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Stayed for the one night with 15 nights parking on site whilst going on a cruise from Southampton. Everything was first class and lived up to what we expected for the price paid. No complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I would like to draw attention to their pet policy. I have been a frequent visitor over 5 years , staying with our small dog at no extra charge. On our latest visit we were charged £30 per night for our dog. I have complained to Holiday Inn head office , requesting a copy of the £30 cleaning bill as they claim to use an external cleaning company. They have been unalbe to provide this despite several requests I only received frosty and arrogant responses .

Beware ; staying at a Hotel claiming to be 'Pet Friendly' is not what it used to be. The staff at the hotel are ashamed of the policy and do not support it.

Do not stay there with pets as they are now very ' Pet Unfriendly'

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whizooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 25 in Southampton
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,766 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: $66 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing