We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonable hotel but jam packed with children!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel is fairly basic, bed is small but comfortable and fairly clean. It only has a shower, and despite the fact it has a curtain, the shower was fine.

It got noisy quite early in the morning and I have never seen a hotel with so many families with small children.

The breakfast is terrible but is included in the price of the room.

There is no air conditioning; there is a radiator you can switch on and a fan is also provided.
The hotel is fine but is nothing special.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west.

Being close to Paultons park/Peppa pig land, we get plenty of families staying with us along with younger children hence why it gets busier during peak times.

We have introduced a separate dining area for adults to ensure all guest have a happier stay with us.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 831 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

I realise now that this is the perfect hotel for families going to the local theme parks, full of kids and ones that ran up and down the corridor from early morning.
We were on a different agenda and were desperate for sleep and quiet (visiting son in Southampton hospital, very stressful).
It is clean, staff helpful, food a bit basic (microwaved).

Room Tip: Ideal for motorway and little noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. we do offer seperate dining area for Adults.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

What can i say about this great hotel and staff iv'e stayed at many hotel around the world in my time.But i would have to say the staff from day one till the end of my stay made me feel at home nothing was to hard for them?I would like to thank all the night staff for your service i leave knowing that i have made good friends in my short stay i would tell friends and family members to always come here and try it out.The rooms are very good plenty of space very clean the food is very good i would also like to thank greg graham for making me feel welcome every day nothing was to hard the team they have there is very good like a family run business pure class.Once again to all the staff and any one i missed out on thank you all so much will miss you guys.Regards mr r rakhra

Room Tip: Great all round service great people will sadly miss staying there
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickinder r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we delivered our Promise to be Simple Smart and Spot On.

In addition to this it was great to hear feedback about my team, i have dicusssed your feedback in the team meeting and shared it amongs all. We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We booked three rooms. Two family rooms and one triple room. We had 2x (2adult2children) and 1x(1adult2children).
We received the same room for all.
One double bed and one sof bed.
The double bed was too soft and very bad for the neck and back. My 8year old son woke up both mornings with neck and back pain. We could not allow the kids to sleep on the sofa bed as it had dangerous metal sections that the kids hurt themselves on and cut themselves on. I even cut my foot on the metal folding parts for sofa bed that was exposed. The sofa bed was unusable, wire on thin mattress could not be slept on either. If u sit on it u sink in. But mainly it was dangerous to be in the room with small children. This was not a family room clearly. It was just a double room with a sofa bed. This should have been mentioned in the booking. I am extremely unhappy. It was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamboHammerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

All our rooms are advertised and sold as per brand guidelines, our Hotel recently underwent a refurbishment programme where all the beds, mattresses, carpets has been replaced with brand new once, in addition to painting and decorating.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Have just returned from a 1 night stay at this hotel with my husband and 2 year old twins. We had chosen the hotel due to being very close to peppa pig world, we got a fantastic deal on 2 day park tickets and over night stay. I was a little dubious about staying here at first due to several negative reviews which seem to focus mainly on the food. However, the hotel was beyond my expectations, the cleanliness was second to none, the room was extremely clean and fresh. Breakfast was great plenty of options, my twins loved the scramble eggs and toast. When asked where we could buy milk from for my twins we were given a whole pint no questions ask. Extremely helpful staff, very child friendly. Hotel is perfect for an over night stop. We have been lucky to travel all over the world staying in many hotels and I reckon this has got to be one of the cleanest yet!! We will be returning on our next peppa pig world visit, thank you holiday inn express west :-)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Carlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we delivered our Promise to be Simple Smart and Spot On.

We will look forward to welocme you again.

Kind Regards

Rajat verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We just needed a room for the night and we got a good deal here! Room included coffee maker, tv and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast was good! All in all a place with good value for money! Will use again when in the area!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Anders J,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We value your opinions of how we hosted your stay. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the positive remarks on our room, amenities and breakfast. Our goal is to make your stay the best it can be and it looks like we accomplished our goal.

Again, thank you for your great feedback. We look forward to making your next stay even more memorable.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Booked 1 night to use as a base whilst visiting Tank museum and Portsmouth Dockyards. Good central location, close to motorway but no road noise. Had room on top floor overlooking the ample car park. Clean modern hotel. Friendly staff. Adequate breakfast.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we delivered our Promise to be Simple Smart and Spot On.

we will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Rajat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,199 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: $82 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing