We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost perfect but....”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The car park. Very good Premier inn, excellent restaurant with view of the city and staff were really friendly and helpful. Unfortunately car park spaces are limited and the alternative suggestions were via an underpass which, on the evening we parked there, was occupied by some gentlemen enjoying cans of lager. To be fair we had no issues, apart from my wife feeling a bit unsafe, although when we picked up the car the next day there were blood splatters in the underpass. None of this is down to the hotel who were very good - the car park attendant particularly so as he did his best to pack as many cars in as possible. When we left I did notice an NCP virtually next door to the hotel which might be worth considering for next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallmeMuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    490
    151
    67
    44
See reviews for
390
442
86
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for one night prior to joining a cruise. The hotel is well situated for the docks and also a short stroll through the park to the city centre where there is a good range of restaurants and bars. Parking was not an issue we managed to get in to the on site car park. There was a 1 hour wait for a table in the restaurant and so we decided to eat at a adjacent hotel. Our room was at the back of the hotel and we were disturbed by a train in the early hours. I mentioned this in passing when checking out and the receptionist said "you should have asked for a room away from the railway ", I explained we had never stayed there before and was not aware it was a working line. Anyway, she mentioned the Good Night Guarantee and fair enough when we returned from our holiday the refund had been made on to my credit card. So, when making a booking or checking in ask for a room away from the railway line as there are more positives than negatives about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed for 4 nights on business and overall was pleased with my stay.
Standard Premier Inn room with comfortable bed,free view tv and a bathroom with shower and bath.
Helpful and pleasant reception staff and helpful car park attendant though parking is very limited and does cause problems if you are with a family or have equipment and bags to carry back and fore to to your room though there is a lift and a sack trolley at reception.
We bought the Premier Inn meal deal option for £22 which included an all you can eat cooked breakfast plus cereal,fruit and continental option.Plus for the
evening meal you had a choice of starters,main course and dessert.
We were well looked after by Ed and Ivana in the resataurant who were both very friendly and helpful even though we did have a few problems with the wait for food on the last night due to a computer glitch.A long working week away made a little less stressful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ystradafodwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Went to watch football as an away fan very welcoming chatty staff who were always there on hand to help clean rooms great food and great Costa coffee would stay there again if there is an away fixture with Southampton

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joemo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night. When we arrived found a parking place straight away in the car park, which I know was a problem for other people that have stayed at the hotel. Check in was quick and didn't have to queue. When we got up to the room it was very clean, we were in a room right above the railway line, so we could hear the trains clearly, but did not bother us much, our daughter loved watching them. The bed was really comfortable and we had an excellent nights sleep. It is really near to the main shopping centre only about a 3 minute walk and has a nice park round the corner from it so was ideally placed for us. Excellent stay and will definitely look to stay there again if we're in Southampton

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here when I went to a away day at Southampton, on Arrival I was made to wait in reception for about 15 mintuites for my room, however it was New Years day so I will excuse that, When I got to my room I was very surprised, Very large double room, Clean with bath, shower and flatscreen tv, I only paid £29 for the stay and couldn't expect any more for the same price, only about a 15 minuite walk from the ground aswell

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here as a family in a triple room. The window face a very close brick wall. The room was quiet, and clean and the bed gave a very, sore back (after being stuck in traffic) a very good nights sleep. Breakfast however was the deal breaker. It was absolute chaos with staff running around like headless chickens, plates being dropped. You could tell that this was the norm and there were never enough staff on. (The excuse I was given at reception) Hey honey not my problem, I didn't pay a reduced rate!) What a shame after getting privileged parking for disabled, having a great bed, the breakfast spoilt the stay. There were supposed to be pastries and all there was were croissants, I could go on.

Room Tip: I can't really help, but to stay if you do get a brick wall, you will have a quiet night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasHollandonsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing