We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Mary, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights in July whilst on business in the area.
The hotel is in a great city centre location. The price was slightly high, probably because of the location, weather and as I booked it last minute. Upon entering the premises I found out how bad the car parking on site was. It doesn't overly bother me having to park off site, as I found a space 10minutes walk which saved me £4 a night for 2 nights (not that parking £ was an issue). What did bother me was the guy on parking (a middle aged grey haired guy) who was rude and obnoxious towards me, when I questioned the parking situation and where I could park. Not a great 1st impression on the hotel.
The check in was smooth and also both the receptionists were friendly and polite. The hotel room was a typical Premier Inn room. A nice sized double bed, a spare single bed and an adequate en-suite room. A TV and the general amenities (coffee/Tea/Milk etc). The comfort of the room was fine. The hotel offers a free 30minute Wifi service, when this is used you have to pay £3 for 24hours. Not too bad a service, but I do expect when I am paying £85 a night that Wifi should be free.
The hotel offers room service and also has a restaurant and a bar, I didn't try either but the facility is there.
I would probably return to the hotel, depending on the cost, as there are probably other Premier inns in the area which would be cheaper were it not a last minute booking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickSFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    520
    158
    73
    50
See reviews for
431
464
92
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights with work, a little strange to find but an ideal location for the centre, a 10 minute walk. Typical PI, apart from the parking, you have to pay £4 a night !! Don't understand that. The restaurant is in the 5th floor which in the evening is really nice to see the roof tops lit up. The staff are friendly and helpful, Jez (I think that's his name) the restaurant manager was well organised and had the staff doing what they needed to do without panic so well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a back facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsetianville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the Southampton City Centre Premier Inn this weekend and it was awful from the moment we arrived. Car Park is ridiculously small for the size of the hotel, and the nearest car park is on a council estate. Reception wouldn't silence drunkards in the hallway either, keeping us up all night. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasOliver_Brrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have stayed in several Premier Inns over the years but this is the first time we have had to pay for parking, if you can find a parking places.The staff are friendly enough and the rooms were clean. Having to pay for wi fi after half an hour smacks of the Ryan Air syndrome, (make as much cash as possible from wherever, the client will pay)
The family of rats in the ditch behind the hotel were a bit disconcerting while having a cigarette.
The sirens from the nearby Fire Station were annoying at night but the triple glazing did help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Parking is on site and seemed to be plentiful. Got busy later on though. Parking is £4 for the night or £1 an hour. Parking is used by non-guests too. Personally, Premier Inn should offer free permits to guests instead of charging.

Check-in was swift and friendly. Air-Con in the hotel was apparently broken (during 30oC weather!) but I found the room to be pleasantly cool.

Rooms are nicely decorated and kept. Very, very clean.

Location is brilliant. The Southampton high street (with all the usual shops) is a 3 minute walk away.

On-site restaurant is a Thyme. It is on the 5th floor and was extremely quiet when I visited (mid-week). Service and food was excellent.

No complaints at all. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mattsand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in this premier inn as a stop over for a hospital appointment for my son. The inn had great friendly staff, the room was very clean with nice soap. The guest beds for my two children were better than the usual sofa beds from other lodges. Nicer quality to rooms and we loved the restricted access to corridors , this meant the evening was quiet for our family to sleep.
We found the all you can eat breakfast and children under 16 eating free a great help and bonus.
A little higher in price means we cannot stay there as often as we would like too but a fantastic place for all and a bit of luxury. We would recommend this to familys also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamsbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good service and price,room services are brilliant.Location and amenties are accessible where all good for charity organisation especially to us.Just reference checking out after mid day ,can there be any requirement process to be valid and negotiable price for future due flights itenary been as a proof of justification





  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deesuks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing